Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

Bricks! Growing up I loved building kits, and it’s actually not a surprise I decided to study engineering. I used to build everything, from cars for my little brother, to doll house furniture, parking garages… everything imaginable. I didn’t have any fancy bricks, but with a little bit of creativity I could build a lot of things. I can’t even imagine what I could’ve done if I had Laser pegs! These kits offer a unique twist on traditional bricks by adding bricks that light up. Kids can first build the kits according to the instructions, and then harness their imagination and creativity to build other things, figuring out the best placement for these fun bricks. I love that Laser Pegs is a US based company!

laser pegs light up brick example
An example of one of the light up bricks. There are a few varieties in the kits.

Mini pterodactyl

This was the first kit I build, because it was the smallest and a good intro into other kits. Out of the three kits I received, I would only give this one to elementary school kids. Some bricks in these kits can be hard to snap together, and I didn’t have many of those in this particular kit. The pterodactyl has only 55 bricks and it took me about 5-10 minutes to build it. They actually put a lot of thought into it, and once built it’s very playable with. The head, wings, tail and legs all move and the build feels quite sturdy, so the kids can have the flying dino soar over their imagined dino land without worrying that it will fall apart!

laser pegs pterodactyl kit aseembled

Aircraft 4 – in – 1

This was my favourite kit! It’s a 4 in 1, meaning I could’ve built 4 different models with it: the SR-71, the Aurora, the Transatmospheric Fighter, or the Space Shuttle. The included instructions show how to build only one model (the Space Shuttle), and that is the one I went for, and the instructions for the other 3 models can be downloaded. With this particular kit it was extremely helpful to sort the 118 bricks first, because there are solid white, clear and transparent white bricks, and it can be confusing which ones are which from the instructions (for example, the transparent bricks are shown as light blue in the manual). Once sorted out, it took me 20 minutes flat to build the Space Shuttle, and it was really fun. There were a handful of bricks that were a bit tougher to snap in, but not too many. I’d recommend this kit for an elementary school kid that is experienced with building or a high school kid, or any kid you’ll be willing to help, because of those hard to snap in bricks. Be careful with this kit, though, mistakes can be hard to fix.

laser pegs aircraft kit bricks sorted

Just like the pterodactyl, this model feels very solid and can be played with. A lot of kids dream of becoming astronauts, so why not provide them with a toy that can make them feel like they already are. I love how the space shuttle can stand up on the edge of a table or a book, ready for liftoff!

laser pegs aircraft kit assembled

Mega Truck 4 – in – 1

I am so undecided about this set. Just like the one above, it’s 4 in 1, and I could’ve built the Mega Truck, the Super Utility Vehicle, the Pro Racer, or the Work Horse. The instructions included were for the Mega Truck, and that’s what I built, but from the photos the models are somewhat similar. I have to admit, I didn’t like building it. This kit has many bricks that were hard to snap in, and I actually made a few mistakes that were painfully hard to fix. It took me about 25 minutes to build everything up to the tires. Oh, the tires. After trying for 10 minutes I couldn’t snap even one tire onto a barrel. My fingers started to hurt, and I gave up. The next day I decided to email their customer service, and I got a response immediately. They suggested I warm up the tires in hot water and then try, and that worked (although it was still hard to do). They also said this was not a problem they often heard about from their customers, so maybe the kit I got was just a fluke. Regardless, I wouldn’t recommend it for kids that are not at least in high school.

I have to admit that once built, this model is the most solid out of them all. I honestly feel comfortable letting my toddler play with it (supervised of course), although every brick is a chocking hazard, because after tossing it on the couch many times nothing was falling off. I wouldn’t attempt to disassemble it, though. EVER. I love how easily the wheels roll, and my daughter is very into vehicles at the moment, so I ended up loving the model once I was done building it.

laser pegs mega truck kit assembled

Overall, I’m happy with these kits, and my favourite is the Aircraft one. I love that the models are educational and playable once built, and they can provide hours of entertainment and pretend play. Laser Pegs sell many more kits on their website, and they are also available in many stores (some that have curbside pickup if you need a gift quickly), and the sets I reviewed here retail for (in USD):

Do your kids like building? Would they enjoy this fun twist on classic bricks? Which of these models do you think they’d enjoy the most?