Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

I’ve been a member of Glam Sense for a while now, but never managed to get into a campaign. Imagine my surprise when a package was handed to my with a full size bottle of Make Up For Ever Water Blend Face & Body Foundation! I didn’t even get an email that I’m in the campaign until after I received the package. But who would refuse free makeup, right? Not me! I’ve had this foundation on my wish list, and it was great to be able to try it for free (in exchange for my honest review, of course). I didn’t have to write a blog post, though, but wanted to share a detailed review with all of you.

This foundation is vitamin water based, and supposed to be waterproof and last throughout sweaty activities, like workouts and active work days. It is supposed to give a lightweight, natural and dewy look while being waterproof. I also received an Ellipse Blender Sponge, and it was recommended to use it to apply the foundation, although it can be applied with a foundation brush for more coverage.

 

The Water Blend Foundation comes in 20 shades, but they all lean to cool or warm side, with no neutrals. I had to choose my shade from photos, so I decided to go with Y225 – Marble.

IMG_7344

The foundation comes in a simple, frosted glass pump bottle. I love the design, but the cap is a bit loose, and I have a feeling it would just come off if I was to travel with it. Also, it’s quite heavy, so although I love the packaging, I wouldn’t bring it with me when traveling.

The foundation is a very thin liquid, and it’s easy to apply it with the sponge. The sponge works as a beauty blender, but it’s denser, so it doesn’t absorb the foundation in (which is good). It is really easy to apply the foundation evenly – I just tapped it over my face with the sponge, and then rolled the sponge over it to press it into my skin.

When first applied, the foundation gives a lightly dewy, sheer coverage, which I love. It simply evens out my complexion, while looking very natural. I do need to use a concealer, which is expected with a light coverage foundation. It’s perfect for no-makeup makeup looks. You can apply multiple layers to get better coverage, and I tried to layer it two and three times, letting it dry in between. For me, two layers look the best.

IMG_7362

 

The color I chose matches me well when first applied, but I didn’t swatch it for you, because photos really wouldn’t tell you much. I really recommend you try a sample of 1-2 different colors before deciding which one is a good match for you.

IMG_7363

I wore it a couple of times, all day on my most active days, when it was quite hot outside, and got similar results every time. First two times I wore the foundation with no primer, setting powder or setting spray, to properly test it, and I wore it for about 8h. I had to spend lots of time outside and in the car, and I usually do sweat a lot. After the whole day, I got really shiny in my T-zone. However, the foundation didn’t budge, except on the sides of my nose, and if I had used blotting papers or mattifying powder it would’ve looked great. There was no transfer of foundation onto my fingers when I touched my face during the day.

Unfortunately, it definitely oxidized and got more yellow. I am always leaning towards neutral foundations, although at Sephora they always match me with yellow toned ones, so I thought this color would be good for me. As I mentioned above, when I first apply it it’s a really good match. Also, the pink-toned options looked too pink to me. I am surprised to see how much it oxidizes and gets more yellow during the day. I tried setting it with powder and setting spray, and it looks a bit better at the end of the day that way.

imgonline-com-ua-twotoone-YWPBuii4QH7
Before (left) and after (right) photos. One layer of foundation, no primer, powder or setting spray.

I really really wanted to love this foundation. I like light coverage foundations, since most of the time I go for a natural look, and this one was so easy to apply and really looks natural. I am still using it, figuring out a way to make it not oxidize at all. Besides that, it would be perfect for me. It’s comfortable to wear and not drying for my cheeks, while it’s easy to work on the T-zone shine with setting powder and blotting papers. I still didn’t really decide if I would repurchase it.

The Make Up For Ever Water Blend Face & Body Foundation can be purchased from the Make Up Forever website, and it’s available exclusively at Sephora, online and in stores. The product retails for $54 CAD / $43 USD, and contains 50ml/ 1.69oz.

Do you like light coverage or full coverage foundation? Would you try this water-based one? Which color would match you the best?

 

