Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

SBT Seabuckthorn is a Canadian company, located in British Columbia, focused on producing natural healing products based on the Seabuckthorn seed and fruit oils. I was thrilled to collaborate with them to bring you reviews of a number of their products, because I love natural products and working with and supporting Canadian businesses.

The company manufactures their products in-house, and uses a number of natural ingredients that work together with Seabuckthorn oils to treat and heal a variety of skin conditions and concerns.  You can read more about the company here.

I’m quite obsessed with the way my feet look. I like to wear sandals and other types of open shoes a lot, and I don’t settle for anything less than perfect looking feet. By perfect I don’t mean model-photo-type-feet, rather I want my feet to be clean, soft, with no hard skin or calluses, and my toenails have to be nicely manicured with no chipped nail polish or hair on my toes or tops of my feet. All of this is quite easy to accomplish, so I really get disgusted sometimes seeing how some ‘ladies’ don’t take care of the feet that carry them around.

Now that my little rant is over, I want to introduce you to this wonderful new product in my little foot routine, which is the SBT Seabuckthorn Heal to Toe Soothing Salve.  This simple salve contains powerful ingredients that heal and moisturize feet, while keeping them deodorized. Tea Tree, Lemon Tree and Thyme oil also have anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties, which keep your feet safe from any nasty infection if you sweat a lot like me.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Cocoa Butter, Candelilla Wax, Sea buckthorn Seed Oil, Tea Tree Oil, Lemon Tea Tree Oil, Peppermint Oil, Thyme Oil, Sea buckthorn Fruit Oil

IMG_5067

The salve comes in quite a large tin, which I completely underestimated. Although I know how much 110 g/ 4 oz is, I was still surprised once I actually had it in my hand. Here is a photo for scale, just to show you how much you actually get with this product. I love the environment-friendly tin packaging that can be easily recycled or reused. To give you a few ideas, I like to reuse tins to store small things like buttons, pins etc, or to mix my powder face masks in.

IMG_5292

Once I opened the tin there was a strong scent, and I can mostly smell the tea tree oil. The deep yellow color comes from the seabuckthorn oils, but it doesn’t stain my socks. The salve is soft, when I glide my finger over the surface it melts instantly, and if I press, my finger leaves a dent in it.

IMG_5068

However, the way it melts didn’t leave me with enough product, and it would have taken a while to get enough for both of my feet. I also didn’t want to stick my fingers into it, since I hate getting any product under my fingernails. Luckily, I found an easy solution, that I will share with you.

The tin itself is not too hard, so if you just squeeze it all around, then flip upside down and shake, the whole salve should eventually come out. Then you can easily take product from around the edges, where it is softer, and rub into your feet. When you do this once, flip the salve over when putting it back, and next time you can easily scoop product from the surface. I’m assuming the top part just hardens a little bit from contact with the air.

The salve itself is a bit greasy, so I recommend using it at night. I use it 2-3 times a week in the evening, rub it in well and then put on my bamboo moisturizing socks, and then remove them before going to bed (I can’t sleep in socks). I’ve been doing this for 2 weeks now, and I wake up with baby soft feet. This routine has definitely made my heels and calluses on the back of my feet softer.

IMG_5294

Instead of using the Heal to Toe salve as a foot cream, I consider it more as a deep moisturizing treatment. I’m currently in the foot peeling process, and after it’s done I’ll be using this salve twice a week to keep my feet soft, while using a foot cream in between if necessary. This is such a pampering treat for my feet.

As I have mentioned, the Heal to Toe salve comes in a 110 g / 4 oz tin, and retails for $19.95. Considering the size, the amount of product I need for each use, and the price of other similar foot products, I would say that this is a reasonable price for an all natural foot salve with additional healing properties.

You can also look for SBT Seabuckthorn products on well.ca, amazon.ca, vitarock.com and in most larger natural stores & chains  (Nature’s Fare, Healthy Planet, Finlandia, etc.), as well as in a number of health food stores.

Do you have a foot care ritual? How often do you apply foot creams? Is this salve something that would fit into your foot care well?

