Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

Wedderspoon is a company founded by Sebastien and Catherine Martin, along with their friend Fiona Nelson, after they realized that Manuka honey, native to New Zealand, was not available for purchase in North America. Knowing the health benefits of this particular type of honey, they decided to start a company and bring it here. You can read their story here.

Wedderspoon gets this honey directly from New Zealand, where it is gathered by bees from Manuka flowers. Project is non-GMO, verified in USA. They guarantee a certain percentage of Manuka pollen count, depending on the Kfactor, which is clearly labelled on the jar.

I had a chance to sample their KFactor16 Manuka Honey before, courtesy of SocialNature. You can see the short review here. As a huge honey lover, I continued buying this honey for its health benefits, and it was such a treat to try the KFactor22 Raw Manuka Honey. This limited edition honey has the highest concentration of pollen in the whole Wedderspoon Manuka honey range, 90% or higher Manuka pollen count in every jar.

Also, 5% of sales from this honey is donated to support the David Suzuki Foundation.

IMG_6139

The honey comes in a black plastic jar, which is a BPA free non-leaching poly jar. It looks classy and luxurious, great to present on the kitchen counter. I wish it was packaged in a glass jar, although that would make shipping more difficult, I suppose.

Wedderspoon describes the color as hazelnut, falling into the Dark Amber category on the Pfund color grading system. To me it seems a bit lighter than that, but it definitely has a rich, deep color that prepares you for the taste to come.

IMG_6144

The honey is very creamy, and it doesn’t spill around. It’s perfectly spreadable, and I enjoyed it a couple of times on a slice of toast with butter, which is my favorite sweet breakfast. Like every other honey, this raw manuka one has a lower glycemic index, which means it’s absorbed into blood more gradually than regular sugar, which is a good thing (it means your energy won’t be jumping up and down).

IMG_6224

This honey has a strong, rich taste. It doesn’t start as very sweet, but after I swallow there is a very sweet taste left on my tongue. It tastes almost floral to me.

I did a taste test comparing it to the KFactor16 honey, and a simple grocery-store creamed honey. The Wedderspoon KFactor22 honey is a little bit less sweet than the other two, but it’s almost unnoticeable. It has a much deeper taste compared to the grocery store honey, but the difference between the KFactor16 and KFactor22 honey is not huge, when it comes to taste. So, even if you miss on getting this limited edition honey, the KFactor16 should still do.

The benefits on consuming honey are known, and obvious, but did you know it’s good for your skin, too? I actually use honey to mix my dry face masks in all the time, or I just simply spread it over my face for a nutritious mask every now and then. I decided to also try the face mask recipe I found on wedderspoon.com. You simply mix some greek yogurt, manuka honey and lemon juice. I made some changes though, adding a few drops of vitamin E and using less lemon juice. The yogurt hydrates, lemon juice brightens, honey provides nourishment and light exfoliation, and vitamin E help skin to regenerate – this is what we all need after the long winter.

IMG_6289

The mask I got was very liquid, but once applied it didn’t drip down my face and neck. There was A LOT of it. I recommend you to play with the amounts of the ingredients and make way less that the recipe suggest.

Once I washed it off, my face was smooth under my fingers, bright and even. I did have to apply a face moisturizer afterwards, but I have dry skin and can’t go without it after my skin was in contact with water.

IMG_6295

The Wedderspoon Limited Edition KFactor22 Raw Manuka Honey retails in 250g/ 8.8oz jars for CA$46.49. For my US readers, you can buy it on wedderspoon.com for US$43.99 (currently sold out on the US site).

In addition to their website, Wedderspoon products are sold at many retail locations. I personally buy the honey at my local pharmacy, and I’ve even seen some products in one of the Winners stores. To find where to buy these products near you, check their store locator.

This honey is definitely more expensive than what you may be used to, but this is a premium product with such a high pollen count. Other raw manuka honey types on Wedderspoon’s site have lower prices, which confirms that this is a premium product that you couldn’t easily find elsewhere. However, considering the price, I decided not to use this honey in cooking, to be able to get all of its benefits that may be lost when it gets warmed up. My favorite way to consume such a rare honey is a small teaspoon every morning before any other food. This is a great way to boost your immune system. I’ve also been adding it to our fruit smoothies, and it works great with berries and other fruit.

Do you like honey? Do you eat raw honey or special types of honey? Did you ever try substituting sugar with honey in your food and drinks?

