Years ago I had a huge medical scare, that made me start thinking about what I put on my skin. Although I still didn’t make a total switch to natural products, I did switch to deodorant only, and stopped using antiperspirants. For someone who is prone to sweating like I am, this wasn’t easy. I still use antiperspirants, but very occasionally (like job interviews etc).  I tried numerous deodorants, but none could last to long on my body.

One of my favorite deodorant discoveries is Rocky Mountain Soap Co. natural deodorant. This small but expanding company is based in Canmore, Alberta and produces only completely natural products. We all know companies that claim to be natural, but still use synthetics. Well, Rocky Mountain Soap products are 100% natural. Their stores are also completely toxin-free, and made with “reused, re-claimed, recycled or compostable with a further tenant that no parts of the store will ever end up in a landfill.”, according to the president of the company.

IMG_3787.JPG

The deodorant itself comes in six different scents:

  • Geranium
  • Lavender
  • Lemongrass
  • Men’s stuff
  • Tea tree
  • Unscented

I have tried Lemongrass and Tea tree, and sniffed all of them, and Tea tree works the best for me for now. I always thought tea tree is only good for acne and pimples, but we never stop learning.

Ingredient list shows that there is nothing synthetic in the deodorant, which is based on potassium alum crystals:  Aqua (Water), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Extract, Potassium Alum (Deodorant Crystal), Glycerin, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate (Olive Lipids), Sodium Levulinate, Sodium Anisate (Basil Oil), Cetyl Palmitate, Sorbitan Palmitate, Sorbitan Olivate (Olive Waxes), Sclerotium Gum (Vegetable Gum), Glyceryl Caprylate, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Eucalyptus Radiata Oil, Mentha Arvensis (Peppermint) Leaf Oil.

The deodorant is a milky liquid, that is clear once applied. You have to shake it well, and it’s a bit wet upon application, but dries fairly quickly. I’ve been using it on and off for a few months now, and didn’t notice any stains on my shirts. The best part – it is a roll-on! So many natural deodorants come as a paste and have to be applied with fingers, that this got me really excited!

IMG_3790.JPG

But the most important question is, does it work? It is stated on their website that deodorant should work for about 6h. For me it works for 4-8h, depending on the temperature and activity levels. If I do an intense workout, I have to wash and reapply sooner (which I would do anyways). If I have a slow winter day, it can easily last all day. I think this is really good for a natural deodorant.

As with all other natural deodorants, you should apply it on clean skin. I tried reapplying it without washing my skin and it didn’t work . However, if I wipe my underarms with a wet wipe, dry and then reapply, it gives me a few more hours of wear. This is a good method if you are traveling.

If you are new to natural deodorants and just switching, it can take up to a month for your body to adjust. Don’t think the deodorant doesn’t work – you are detoxifying. You can read more about it here.

New to natural deodorants or not, you can try the Rocky Mountain Soap Co. 30 Day Deodorant Challenge, and you could WIN a trip for two. Since I was using a different deodorant for a little while, I switched to this one again, and just finished my challenge on Monday.

The best of all – this deodorant is completely affordable. You can get it for only $9.00 from their website or any of their stores in Alberta, BC and Manitoba.

I also recommend you to join their toxin-free movement. I got free sample-sized and full-sized products, switched toxic for non-toxic products, and got gift with purchase offers. The last offer was to switch any full or empty deodorant for one of these non-toxic ones! It is free to join and totally worth it!

Do you use natural deodorants? Which one is your favorite. If not, are you willing to switch?

