Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

SBT Seabuckthorn is a Canadian company, located in British Columbia, focused on producing natural healing products based on the Seabuckthorn seed and fruit oils. I was thrilled to collaborate with them to bring you reviews of a number of their products, because I love natural products and working with and supporting Canadian businesses.

The company manufactures their products in-house, and use a number of natural ingredients that work together with Seabuckthorn oils to treat and heal a variety of skin conditions and concerns.  You can read more about the company here.

The first product I started using the same day I received the generous package from SBT Seabuckthorn is their Lip balm stick. As someone with dry lips I can never have enough lip balms around, and I am always looking for a better formula. I also prefer natural lip balms, since inadvertently we all ingest some of the lip products off of our lips. This lip balm is exactly the type of balm I like to use.

The balm comes in a usual plastic packaging, that is 100% recyclable. I prefer these tubes over tins, because they make the product more convenient to use on the go. Upon opening there is a slight off-putting scent, but luckily it’s not too strong. It definitely smells like herbal oil. I am used to these scents, so it doesn’t bother me. There are no essential oils added for scent, so it’s definitely safe for sensitive lips. All the ingredients are natural.

Ingredients: Capric/Capryllic Triglycerides; Natural Beeswax; Sea buckthorn Seed Oil; Sea buckthorn Fruit Oil; Hemp Seed Oil; Castor Oil; Soy Wax; Candelilla Wax; Olive Oil; Meadowfoam Seed Oil; Castor Isostearate Succinate; Shea Butter; Vitamin E

IMG_5033

The balm is not hard at all, it melts on the lips easily, and only a little bit is needed. I swipe it only once over my lips, which is not usually the case with lip balms. It gives an oily shine, and feels extremely hydrating. I don’t have to reapply it too often, mostly only after I eat.

It does have a very slight taste, very hard to describe. It’s not sweet, which is good, since sweet balms make me want to lick my lips. This one tastes more like a slight oil taste, which makes me not want to lick it. I have to emphasize that this taste is almost not noticeable. All this is great for me, since licking my lips makes them even more dry.

This is what the company says about the Seabuckthorn oils in this balm: Sea buckthorn oils are transdermal and help pull the healing ingredients in this balm through the layers of your lips as opposed to just sitting on the surface. They oils also contain a natural SPF to help heal lips that have been overexposed to the suns powerful UVA & UVB rays.

The balm is definitely helping to keep my lips hydrated. I like that I don’t have to reapply it all the time, and I love applying a bit more before sleep so that it works over night. I have a couple of lip balms around, but I keep reaching for this one. A definite win for me.

The SBT Seabuckthorn Lip balm stick retails for $4.95 and you can order it from their website. To me this price is completely reasonable for an all natural lip balm, with healing properties, that actually works.

You can also look for SBT Seabuckthorn products on well.ca, amazon.ca, vitarock.com and in most larger natural stores & chains  (Nature’s Fare, Healthy Planet, Finlandia, etc.), as well as in a number of health food stores.

What is your favorite lip balm? Did you think about using natural ones? What is your favorite natural skincare company?

 

 

 

