Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

I am sure you’ve all seen MaskerAide products around. MaskerAide is a Canadian company that works on bringing the latest trends, innovation and quality of South Korean beauty products to Canada, US and internationally. Korean beauty products are very popular, and becoming even more so every day, but it’s sometimes hard to choose which ones to try. In addition, often their labels are in Korean, and it’s hard to find translations and ingredient lists. That is why I’m so happy to collaborate with a Canadian company that brings us these cute and fun, but functional and effective products. All the MaskerAide products are designed and developed in Toronto.

I’m obsessed with masks. There is something about any mask that acts as intensive treatment that improves my skin visibly and immediately that just attracts me. Don’t get me wrong, I am all about skincare and doing it regularly (there was a time when I wasn’t), but sometimes it’s nice to see immediate results. I try to use masks at least 1-2 times a week, one is usually a blackhead clearing mask, and the other one is a hydrating one. But I love to change it up, and always try new ones. So naturally, I was happy to collaborate with MaskerAide to review a number of their masks, two of them being the Pre Party Prep and the Weather Warrior sheet masks.

I just love seeing these MaskerAide masks. The packaging is fun, modern and girly. The foil wrap is easy to tear open, which is really important. I hate having to look for scissors to open a packaging that refuses to tear. Also, the packaging is 100% biodegradable and recyclable. The mask inside comes nicely folded, soaked with essence, but not dripping and it’s easy to unfold it. The amount of essence is just perfect, and once the masks are on my face there is no dripping at all!

IMG_7546

The Pre Party Prep sheet mask is designed to prep your skin for makeup application. It contains a blend of natural Argan Oil, Orange Peel Oil, Super Fruit Extracts, Rice Extract and Honey, and is free of parabens, mineral oil, sulfates, phtalates, benzophenone, artificial fragrance and pigments.

Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Butylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Sorbitol, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Fruit Extract, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Fruit Extract, Mel/Honey Extract/Extrait de Miel, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Opuntia Ficus-Indica Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Betaine, Octyldodeceth-25, Decyltetradeceth-25, Arginine, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Polyacrylate, Disodium EDTA, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Dextrin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Alcohol Denat., Phenoxyethanol

IMG_7549

Like most sheet masks, this one feels a bit cooling on my skin, which is awesome now that the summer has fully kicked in. It is recommended to keep it on for 10-20 minutes, and since I didn’t feel any warming or tingling sensation, I kept it on for the full 20 minutes, enjoying the light fresh scent, that isn’t too strong or perfumey. After removing the mask, I gently patted my face with a paper napkin, and let the rest of the essence sink in. You can rinse your face instead, but water dries out my skin, and this way I got the full benefits of the mask.

The essence sunk into my skin and dried off very fast, within 5 minutes, and there was no stickiness afterwards. At all! My skin looked smooth, hydrated, plump and very even. I don’t think I ever got such great results with a sheet mask. There is definitely some acid exfoliation with this mask, since my one dry patch was gone. After using it, makeup applies like a dream, and the hydration lasted all day.

I loved it so much that I went to London Drugs and bought 3 more. This is a mask to have around at all times!

IMG_7559

Imagine this: you were invited to a pool party. You did everything right – used your Pre Party Prep sheet mask, applied sunscreen, waterproof makes up, drank lots of liquids, stayed in the shade…and still somehow got sunburned. Or just a bit red. Don’t worry, the Weather Warrior sheet mask is designed to soothe your face after a day spent in the sun!

This hydrating mask contains Aloe, Green Tea, Witch Hazel and Argan Oil to heal and soothe skin that was exposed to elements, whether it was a day in the sun, a skiing trip, or just a very windy, rainy fall day. The mask also has no parabens, mineral oil, sulfates, phtalates, benzophenone, artificial fragrance and pigments.

Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Butylene Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Methyl Gluceth-20, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cyclopentasiloxane, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Phyllostachys Nigra Extract, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Fruit Extract, Mel/Honey Extract/Extrait de Miel, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Opuntia Ficus-Indica Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Adenosine,Sorbitol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, C14-22 Alcohols, Polyacrylate-13, Polysorbate 60, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polyisobutene, C12-20 Alkyl Glucoside, Allantoin, Disodium EDTA, Polysorbate 20, Sorbitan Isostearate, Arginine, Potassium Sorbate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol

IMG_7567

This mask is drenched in essence, even more than the previous one, but there was still no dripping. I kept it on for 15 minutes, enjoying the cooling effect on my sun-warmed skin. I followed the same procedure as above: removed the mask, patted my face with a paper napkin and let the essence sink in. I am so happy to report that this mask didn’t leave my face sticky, either. My skin was very smooth and hydrated, and I definitely felt the soothing effect of the mask. Unlike the Pre Party Prep mask, this one offers no exfoliation, which is actually good – who wants exfoliation when your skin is already irritated from all the elements!?

MaskerAide recommends to put this mask in the freezer in the summer, or hot water in the winter, for 15 minutes, for an even better effect. I will definitely have to try this next time!

This is a very gentle mask, that can be used daily, and very hydrating. It’s another great mask to have around, particularly great for any time your skin gets red or irritated, which happens to me every now and then after trying new products. I decided I needed a few more of these, too, so I’m already planning another visit to London Drugs.

Before I scare you with my last photo…

…I have to say a few things about how these masks fit. We all have different shaped face and head, so there will never be a sheet mask that fits us all perfectly. In this case, since I have a long, more narrow face, that is on a smaller side, the masks were a bit too big for me. The top forehead part went over my hair, and the part that’s between the upper lip and nose is too thick and kept sliding down and covering my upper lip. Also, the parts covering sides of my nose were a bit too small/short. However, overall I’d say the masks fit OK, but not perfect. The only masks that fit better are the ones that have two parts, one for upper and one for lower part of my face.

The material masks are made from is very nice, soft and comfortable. It’s also thin enough not to feel claustrophobic on my face, but not too thin, so it’s easy to unfold and maneuver it.

Now for a scary sheet mask face (I can never smile with sheet masks on):

IMG_7611.jpg

I have to admit that I fell in love with these two masks. My favorite is the Pre Party Prep, which must be the best sheet mask I’ve used so far. It hydrates my skin and gets rid of all the dead skin. But I would always be glad to have the Weather Warrior around, in case I need deep hydration without exfoliation.

MaskerAide is striving to keep their products affordable, and both the Pre Party Prep and the Weather Warrior  masks are well priced at $6.99 CAD. You can also get them in a variety of sets that allow for some savings. All the MaskerAide products are available at Rexall, London Drugs, and many other retail locations – you can check the list here, as well as online.  MaskerAide offers a flat-rate $5.00 shipping to Canada and the US, and $17.00 internationally.

What are your favorite sheet masks? Which K-Beauty products are you using? Did you try any MaskerAide products yet?

 

