Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

SBT Seabuckthorn is a Canadian company, located in British Columbia, focused on producing natural healing products based on the Seabuckthorn seed and fruit oils. I was thrilled to collaborate with them to bring you reviews of a number of their products, because I love natural products and working with and supporting Canadian businesses.

The company manufactures their products in-house, and uses a number of natural ingredients that work together with Seabuckthorn oils to treat and heal a variety of skin conditions and concerns.  You can read more about the company here.

Both me and my husband get dry skin patches that are sometimes itchy, but mostly just dry and/or scaly. I had them on my face, on and off since I was a teenager, usually during the colder months. My husband gets them on his legs, and he even asked his doctor about it. As usual, the doctor gave him some prescription cream that did nothing. Although these dry patches of skin don’t bug us, they are not visually nice, and somehow it’s really hard to get rid of them.

All this made me select the SBT Seabuckthorn Eczema & Dermatitis Soothing Salve as one of the products to test and review. As all the salves from this company, this salve is centered around the wonderful Seabuckthorn oils, with the addition of various other essential oils that work together to combat these conditions and help heal the skin. These oils have antimicrobial, analgesic, and anti-inflammatory properties that ease itchiness and inflammation caused by dermatitis and eczema, and the salve can be used to protect extremely dry skin. If you have dry skin, you know how itchy it can get if it’s not moisturized properly. This salve is safe for children and babies, too.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Cocao Butter, Candelilla Wax, Sea buckthorn Seed Oil, Rosehip Oil, Pomegranate Oil, Sea buckthorn Fruit Oil, Helichrysm Oil,and Chamomile Oil

IMG_5255

Like all the other SBT Seabuckthorn salves, this one also comes in quite a large tin, 110 g/ 4 oz is. This means that it can last a while, depending on the skin area you are using it on. I love the environment-friendly tin packaging that can be easily recycled or reused. To give you a few ideas, I like to reuse tins to store small things like buttons, pins etc, or to mix my powder face masks in.

The Eczema & Dermatitis Soothing Salve has the nicest scent out of all the SBT Seabuckthorn salves I’ve tried. The Seabuckthorn oils scent is definitely there, but I can detect a fresh, citrusy scent on top of it. I believe it’s the Pomegranate oil. However, once rubbed into the skin, the scent dissipates very fast and I cannot detect any scent unless I really put my nose right onto the skin, which is good if you are sensitive to some scents like me.

The salve is soft, when I glide my finger over the surface it melts instantly, and if I press, my finger leaves a dent in it. I manage to scoop the amount I need every time with my finger. Alternatively, you can use the whole salve to glide over larger skin areas if you get it out of the tin. The tin itself is not too hard, so if you just squeeze it all around, then flip upside down and shake, the whole salve should eventually come out.

IMG_6212.JPG

I do find the salve a bit greasy, which is expected considering the ingredients, but after a while it soaks in. Because of this I prefer to use it at night. It’s light yellow in color, and once rubbed in it doesn’t stain the skin.

Both me and my husband have been using The Eczema & Dermatitis Soothing Salve for 3-4 weeks now. I have to admit, it has been on and off use, since there were nights when I was too tired to use anything but the basic skincare. Even this way it has helped clear the dry patches on my face about 90%, with the addition of my usual facial routine. I tried taking photos of the patches on my face, but they are light in color, so the photos didn’t really show them well.

IMG_6213.JPG

The dry patches on my hubby’s legs are a bit more severe, but they have definitely improved. I’d say they are about 50% better, but I’m sure he has skipped more nights than me. Even this improvement is huge, because like I previously mentioned, the prescription cream his doctor gave him didn’t help at all.

The Eczema & Dermatitis Soothing Salve is sold in a 110 g / 4 oz tin, and retails for $19.95. Considering the size, the amount of product I need for each use, and the price of other similar products, I’d say that this is a reasonable price for an all natural salve with additional healing properties, that actually works!

You can also look for SBT Seabuckthorn products on well.ca, amazon.ca, vitarock.com and in most larger natural stores & chains  (Nature’s Fare, Healthy Planet, Finlandia, etc.), as well as in a number of health food stores.

Do you have dry skin, eczema, dermatitis or similar annoying skin conditions? Did you ever use any treatments for it? Would you consider trying a natural treatment, especially this salve?

