Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

As a member of GlamSense testing program, I occasionally get products for free, and they have, so far, always been high end products, so it’s needless to say how much I love to receive a package from them. A couple of months ago I received this Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation, and although I never have to write a blog post for the campaign, I’ve been using this foundation so much that it deserves an in-depth review.

The foundation is created for the film and TV industry, and is supposed to provide a lightweight texture and flawless complexion, medium buildable coverage, and natural looking finish. It can be applied with a sponge or a foundation brush, and should be comfortable for anyone with normal, dry or combination skin.

MUFE Ultra HD Foundation is available in 40 shades, all leaning towards cool or warm side, with no neutrals. I had to choose my shade from photos, so I decided to go with R220 – Pink Porcelain. I find that foundations with neutral undertones work the best for me, but I can go to either cool or warm side a little bit. Since I already tried another MUFE foundation that leans warm, this time I decided to try a cool undertone one, to see what works for me better.

IMG_1157

The foundation comes in a hard plastic bottle with a pump dispenser and silver, brushed metal details. Unlike some other MUFE foundations, this bottle has a cap that closes tightly, so there is no chance it would come off when traveling. Overall the packaging is very classy and professional.

IMG_2499

There is no discernible scent when I’m applying the foundation, which is a huge plus in my book. As you can see, the color I chose is a bit too pink and too light for me, but I can make it work on my face (my arms have tanned a bit). Be careful when choosing a color – the foundation a shade or two darker in the bottle than when dispensed, so definitely try a small sample on your face. Out of 40 shades, you can probably find a good match if you do it in a store.

IMG_2501

I’ve been using this foundation for about 3 months now, and I have to say it has become one of my favorites. It can be applied with a sponge or a brush. I get a nice, even, light coverage with a sponge, and medium coverage with a buffing brush, so I can customize the coverage to meet my current needs. It may be built up to almost a full coverage, but the natural finish gets lost that way in my opinion. I don’t really need much to achieve an even coverage, and when going for a medium coverage I almost don’t need any concealer. Keep in mind that I do tend to gravitate towards a natural looking makeup, and a little bit of skin texture doesn’t bother me much.

The foundation really feels flawless and lightweight. Over a primer and set with a powder and setting pray it lasts all day, with minimum wear on my chin (I tend to touch my face). Even when I don’t set it with a powder, I don’t get shiny in the T-zone much. Over a primer the foundation doesn’t get too dry on my cheeks, but without a primer it clings to dry patches, so a good, hydrating primer is a must if you have any dry skin.

Here’s the foundation on, right after application. It looks quite natural and flawless in my opinion, and photographs really well (hence the HD). I would recommend it for any events where there would be photos taken (weddings, family gatherings etc).

MUFE HD Foundation full face look

As I already mentioned, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation is one of my favorite foundations, and I’ll probably go get a better match once I finish this bottle. Again, it comes in whopping 40 shades, and retails for $52/ 30 ml/ 1.01 oz (available at Sephora). With the small amount I need, the bottle can really last a long time.

What is your favorite foundation? Do you have any recommendations for dry combination skin? Have you tried this foundation yet?