Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

SBT Seabuckthorn is a Canadian company, located in British Columbia, focused on producing natural healing products based on the Seabuckthorn seed and fruit oils. I was thrilled to collaborate with them to bring you reviews of a number of their products, because I love natural products and working with and supporting Canadian businesses.

The company manufactures their products in-house, and uses a number of natural ingredients that work together with Seabuckthorn oils to treat and heal a variety of skin conditions and concerns.  You can read more about the company here.

I hit furniture! I am one of those people that will hit every corner of every single chair, table, bed and every other piece of furniture in my home. As a result, I often have big, blue, painful bruises all over my legs, feet, and even arms. In addition to this, due to genetics, I have weak capillaries that often appear on my legs and sometimes even break to cause additional bruises. Thanks mum! I guess I can’t really complain since my veins are not showing, so I don’t have that problem, but I still don’t like walking around looking like a child that’s been playing outside all weekend.

I’ve tried a number of natural and non-natural medicinal salves and rubs to speed up the healing of my bruises, but none of them really worked. I might not have been patient enough to see the results, but if it doesn’t work within 5-10 days, I give up. I mean, by that time the bruise should go away on its own or look smaller anyways (not really, some of my bruises take 2-4 weeks to heal). So I was quite skeptical when I started using the SBT Seabuckthorn Bruises and Varicose Veins Soothing Salve. This salve contains the awesome Seabuckthorn oils, that are the base of all the SBT Seabuckthorn products, with the added benefits of the Mastic oil. This oil has anti-inflammatory, anti- microbial, anti-fungal, and anti-ulcerative properties. The most important property for me is that it’s a vaso-constrictor, meaning it makes the veins smaller, which makes the bruises smaller faster. The other added oils help with pain and treating the bruises as well.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Cocoa Butter, Candelilla Wax, Sea buckthorn Seed Oil, Sea buckthorn Fruit Oil, Plai Oil, Sweet Birch Oil, Mastic Oil, Lavender Oil, Helichrysum Oil

IMG_5084

Like all the other SBT Seabuckthorn salves, this one also comes in quite a large tin, 110 g/ 4 oz is. This means that it can last a long, long time. I was using generous amounts on my bruises, and still barely made a dent in it. I love the environment-friendly tin packaging that can be easily recycled or reused. To give you a few ideas, I like to reuse tins to store small things like buttons, pins etc, or to mix my powder face masks in.

Out of all the SBT Seabuckthorn salves I’ve tried, this one smells the worst. I find the scent quite unpleasant, but the results are worth it. Luckily, the scent is barely noticeable 30-60 minutes after applying it, once it’s fully absorbed.

The salve is soft, when I glide my finger over the surface it melts instantly, and if I press, my finger leaves a dent in it. I find it a bit softer than other salves, so I managed to scoop the small amount I needed every time with my finger. The photo below shows the amount I used on the bruise you will see later. You can see it’s quite a small amount.

I do find the salve a bit greasy, which is expected considering the ingredients, but after a while it soaks in. Because of this I prefer to use it at night.

IMG_5458

And now for the big question – did it work? I really wanted to test it on multiple bruises and capillaries, but as it usually works out, when I needed them, I couldn’t find any. I do tend to get more bruises when it’s hot, so I will keep this salve around for the upcoming spring and summer.

However, I discovered a bruise near my elbow that I didn’t even know I had, so I tested the salve on it. The photos below show the progress. The bruise was already starting to heal, but even at this stage it would take at least 7-10 days more for it to completely disappear.

IMG_5635.PNG
Top left: Before using the salve                                                                                                                          Top right: after one use                                                                                                                                        Bottom left: after two uses                                                                                                                                  Bottom right: after three uses                                                                                                                           

You can see that only after 2 uses the bruise was virtually non-existent! For me this is great, because I am not really patient and often forget to use skin products regularly. I do have to point out that every skin and every bruise is different, so you may not experience the same results. Your bruises may take more, or even less time to heal, but I definitely find the SBT Seabuckthorn Bruises and Varicose Veins Soothing Salve effective.

The Bruises and Varicose Veins Soothing Salve is sold in a 110 g / 4 oz tin, and retails for $19.95. Considering the size, the amount of product I need for each use, and the price of other similar products, I’d say that this is a reasonable price for an all natural salve with additional healing properties, that actually works!

You can also look for SBT Seabuckthorn products on well.ca, amazon.ca, vitarock.com and in most larger natural stores & chains  (Nature’s Fare, Healthy Planet, Finlandia, etc.), as well as in a number of health food stores.

Do you bruise easily, or have varicose veins? Did you ever use any treatments for it? Would you consider trying a natural treatment, especially this salve?

 

