Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

SBT Seabuckthorn is a Canadian company, located in British Columbia, focused on producing natural healing products based on the Seabuckthorn seed and fruit oils. I was thrilled to collaborate with them to bring you reviews of a number of their products, because I love natural products and working with and supporting Canadian businesses.

The company manufactures their products in-house, and uses a number of natural ingredients that work together with Seabuckthorn oils to treat and heal a variety of skin conditions and concerns.  You can read more about the company here.

I usually don’t have huge problems with my hair. It’s a bit coarse, but healthy. I don’t style it too much, but I do use a hair dryer all the time. Somehow that doesn’t hurt it, so all I have to do, usually, is to wash and condition it. Every now and then I use deep conditioning treatments and masks, but I don’t need those all the time. However, I’ve noticed lately that my scalp became dry and itchy. I’ve tried a number of drugstore dandruff shampoos, but they didn’t really help.

SBT Seabuckthorn has three types of shampoo and conditioners to choose from:

  • Lemon Tea Tree – to combat dandruff and balance scalp oils
  • Lavender – for thinning, color treated, chemically treated and heat damaged hair
  • Peppermint – adds volume while cooling and calming an irritated scalp

So, when I was choosing SBT Seabuckthorn products to test, I decided to go for their Lemon Tea Tree line.

The Lemon Tea Tree Shampoo is made with Seabuckthorn, Tea Tree and Lemon Tea Tree oils to deeply cleanse without stripping the hair of its natural oils. Tea Tree oil has anti-fungal properties, and I wasn’t surprised to see it as the main ingredient in the shampoo. All the SBT Seabuckthorn shampoos and conditioners are made without SLS, DEA, and Parabens.

Ingredients: Ingredients: Deionized Water, Alkyl Polyglucosides, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Hippophae Rhamnoides Kernel (Seabuckthorn) Oil, Hippophae Rhamnoides Pulp (Seabuckthorn) Oil Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Leptospermum Petersonii (Lemon Tea Tree Oil) Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cannabis Sativa (Hemp) Seed Oil, Sodium Chloride, Vegetable Glycerine, Panthenol (Pro Vitamin B 5), Salix Alba (White Willow) Bark Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (Chamomile), Trifolium Pratense (Red Clover) Flower Extract, Sambucus Nigra (Elder) Flower Extract, Phenoxyethanol and Caprylyl Glycol (Optiphen®)

IMG_5193

Both the shampoo and the conditioner come in quite big, 12 oz/350 ml bottles, with a disc top press cap. I like the size, because they are big enough to last for a while, but they don’t take up so much space in my shower like those huge 500 ml bottles.

The shampoo is quite liquid, a bit runny, and I always have to be careful when rubbing it into my scalp, because it has a tendency to run down my face and neck a bit. I usually dispense smaller amounts into my palm and rub it in in sections. I need less of this shampoo than the drugstore brands, and it’s easy to use too much at first. It smells strongly of tea tree and lemon, which took some getting used to. It’s a very herbal scent, but not unpleasant. The shampoo lathers a bit, but don’t expect the SLS fueled rich foam that some shampoos give you.

Once rinsed out, the shampoo leaves my hair very clean, but not stripped. I have to use a conditioner afterwards, but I’ve yet to find a shampoo I can use without a conditioner. Once I dry my hair, there is almost no scent left in it, as far as I can tell.

IMG_6344

The Lemon Tea Tree Conditioner is an anti-dandruff conditioner for normal to dry hair and dry scalp, formulated to be used together with the Lemon Tea Tree Shampoo. It’s an   effective treatment for skin conditions such as eczema, psoriasis, dermatitis, and blepharitis, while Lemon Tea Tree and Tea Tree Oils help with for dandruff and itchy scalp.

Ingredients: Ingredients: Aqua, Cannabis Sativa (Hemp) Seed Oil, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Coco Caprylate, Glycerin, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Hippophae Rhamnoides Kernel (Seabuckthorn) Oil, Hippophae Rhamnoides Pulp (Seabuckthorn) Oil, Ceteareth-6 & Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Sodium PCA, Sodium Lactate, Arginine, Aspartic Acid, PCA, Glycine, Alanine, Serine, Valine, Proline, Threonine, Isoleucine, Histidine, Phenylalanine, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Leptospermum Petersonii (Lemon Tea Tree Oil) Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Leaf Juice, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Panthenol, Hydrolized Wheat Protein, Tocopherol, Guar Hydro-xypropyltrimonium Chloride (Guar Gum), Citric Acid, Lactobacillus Ferment.

IMG_5196

The conditioner is really thick, and it’s a bit harder to get it out of the bottle. Like with the shampoo, I don’t need nearly as much conditioner as I’m used to with the drugstore brands.  The Tea Tree scent is equally dominant as in the shampoo, but I don’t distinguish any lemon scent in it.

The conditioner feels like a nice, rich cream that coats my hair. It’s a bit harder to rinse it out, and even when rinsed I can still feel like my hair is coated. I was afraid that it won’t work for me because of this, but luckily once I dry my hair it looks light and smooth, not weighted down at all, so I consider this “coating” as a protective layer.

IMG_6346

I’ve been using exclusively this shampoo and conditioner combo for about 5 weeks now, twice a week. The shampoo cleans my hair well, without stripping it, while the conditioner provides it with much needed moisture and helps detangle my long hair. However, at first I didn’t notice any huge changes in my scalp. I’ve reached out to the company, and they told me to use the conditioner on my scalp.

This is against all my hair washing principles. I have long, coarse hair that’s heavy on it’s own, so I always used a conditioner only on the bottom half of my hair. But to follow the company’s guidelines, I decided to test it properly, however I have to admit that I was skeptical. I expected my hair to be limp and weighted down.

That didn’t happen. I did notice that my hair has a bit less volume when I use the conditioner on my scalp, but after 4-5 washes this way, I’ve noticed that my scalp is less itchy, and the flakiness is clearing out. Since I’ve been trying to get rid of the flakes for over 6 months, these are amazing results for me, not to mention a huge relief. I will definitely continue using these products together to completely clear out my scalp.

All the SBT Seabuckthorn shampoos and conditioners retail for $18.00, which is similar to other natural hair care products I’ve seen or used. You can also look for SBT Seabuckthorn products on well.ca, amazon.ca, vitarock.com and in most larger natural stores & chains  (Nature’s Fare, Healthy Planet, Finlandia, etc.), as well as in a number of health food stores.

Did you ever have to battle with flaky scalp or dandruff? What did you use to heal your scalp? Would you use a natural product instead, like this shampoo and conditioner combination?

