Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

SBT Seabuckthorn is a Canadian company, located in British Columbia, focused on producing natural healing products based on the Seabuckthorn seed and fruit oils. I was thrilled to collaborate with them to bring you reviews of a number of their products, because I love natural products and working with and supporting Canadian businesses.

The company manufactures their products in-house, and uses a number of natural ingredients that work together with the Seabuckthorn oils to treat and heal a variety of skin conditions and concerns.  You can read more about the company here.

I am blessed with good health, although my genes don’t really support that, there are a number of conditions I may or may not get. Throughout my childhood I was susceptible to colds and flu, but I don’t usually get any bigger health problems. That is why I try to heal by supporting my body’s natural immune system, instead of reaching for strong medication, since I’m lucky enough not to really need it much. Don’t get me wrong, I visit my doctor’s office often, I do regular check-ups, and take medication when it’s necessary. I will always recommend to everyone to visit their doctor for any medical problem. I just believe that viral infections like colds go away on their own anyways, and all we can do is try to make it more comfortable for ourselves for those 7-10 days.

So, what I do is regularly work on my immune system by eating fruit and veggies, working out, taking supplements, and when that inevitable cold hits, I use natural remedies to make it easier to breathe and sleep. I’ve been using eucalyptus and mint scented butters, salves, essential oils and similar natural products for years now, so I welcomed the SBT Seabuckthorn Sniffle Stick into my home, especially because I just used up all of my other similar remedies. I like to make sure everyone has their own, because these sticks are being rubbed directly on the skin. The Sniffle Stick contains the wonderful, airway opening oils that help ease the congestion caused by colds and flu.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Cocao Butter, Candelilla Wax, Eucalyptus Oil, Sea buckthorn Seed Oil, Peppermint Oil, Ravintsara Oil, Ravensara Oil, Sea buckthorn Fruit Oil

The Sniffle Stick comes in a simple, plastic, lip balm packaging with a twist up mechanism. The packaging is 100% recyclable. The size of this stick makes it so convenient to carry around. I can’t even tell you how many times I had to go to work with a cold, and things like this stick make it a bit easier to survive the day, but don’t take too much space in my purse. The stick packaging makes the application easier, too, since you don’t really have to touch the salve inside with your hands.

IMG_5452

I find the salve in the stick a bit greasy, which is expected considering the ingredients. It’s soft and melts and applies easily. My nose mostly detects the eucalyptus scent, and I find the scent not as strong as some other similar products I’ve tried. However, that doesn’t affect it’s efficacy a bit. The balm inside is yellow in color, but it doesn’t stain my skin at all, so it’s safe to use even at work!

The recommended way to use the Sniffle Stick is to rub it onto the chest or nostrils. I have some more suggestions, though. If you want to use it in public and don’t want to have a greasy sheen on your nose, you can simply hold the stick close to your nose and inhale. This way it will temporarily help you breathe until you get home and can really rub it in.  Also, when I have a really bad sinus congestion, I like to cut off a piece of the balm and melt it in a bowl of hot water, cover the bowl and my head with a towel and inhale deeply for as long as I can handle. The combination of the hot steam and essential oils really help my sinuses to start draining.

IMG_5454.JPG

Although I got this stick weeks ago, I was waiting until I got a cold to properly review it. With the recent constant weather changes I knew I would get it, and sure enough, I did. The way I fought it (my usual way) is shown on the photo above. I use honey and lemon for sore throat, warm tea for overall soothing and hydration, Breath Right strips to sleep easier at night, and the Sniffle Stick to ease the congestion and help with my breathing throughout the day and night. The balm gently eases my stuffy noses and sinuses and that helps with the associated headaches. I didn’t take any medication, and with everything shown above my cold was gone in about a week, which is completely normal for me.

The Sniffle Stick is sold for $4.95, which is completely reasonable for this size, and compared to other similar products. However, if you have a big family, especially if you have kids, you may want to buy the Coughs & Colds & Sniffles Too Soothing Salve, which is a bigger version of this balm, comes in a 110 g/ 4 oz tin, and retails for $19.95. The bigger one would be easier to use on the chest, and completely replaces products like VapoRub.

You can also look for SBT Seabuckthorn products on well.ca, amazon.ca, vitarock.com and in most larger natural stores & chains  (Nature’s Fare, Healthy Planet, Finlandia, etc.), as well as in a number of health food stores.

How do you treat a cold, do you go for medication, or do you try to fight it naturally? Did you try any products like this one?

 

