Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

UPDATE: It seems like this company is not operating anymore. Check out my other face cleanser reviews here.

I am sure you’ve all seen MaskerAide products around. MaskerAide is a Canadian company that works on bringing the latest trends, innovation and quality of South Korean beauty products to Canada, US and internationally. MaskerAide is the parent company of washbeautyco. that currently carries only two products – the Original and the Bamboo Charcoal Konjac Sponge. This company is focused on simplifying the way we do skincare, and does that in a sustainable, environmentally friendly way.

Konjac sponge is 100% plant-based, made from the root of konjac potato. It cleanses skin and gently exfoliates to reveal your true glow, while keeping your routine simple and quick. I decided to try the Original Konjac Sponge, because I was afraid that the other version would be too drying for my already dry skin.

There is only one ingredient in this sponge: konjac root fibers. No bleach or dyes are used, and the sponges are vegan, cruelty-free and compostable/biodegradable. The sponge arrives in a plastic box that provides information about the use, but please don’t use this box for storage. You sponge needs to air dry and breathe between uses, which will prolong its life. You can use the thread attached to it to hang it to dry after use.

IMG_7503

The sponge is hard when dry, and you need to run it under water to make it soft, which also makes it expand. Then you simply rub it gently, in a circular motion, all over your face, neck and decollete, rinse out and hang. It cleanses the skin in such a gentle way and exfoliates slightly. What I like about the sponge is that I can easily cleanse my neck and decollete without getting water and cleanser all over my clothes. Have you ever tried washing your neck? It can be a hassle, but it’s so important to extend our skincare beyond our face.

Another way I am using this sponge is by adding a small amount of my favorite cleanser. This is particularly good for those days when I wear more makeup or multiple layers of sunscreen. The sponge makes the cleanser lather better and again, makes cleansing my neck and decollete so much easier. I just rinse it well, wash my face with water, and use the sponge again to remove the cleaner off the areas below the face. It’s so gentle that I’ve been using it every night.

I’ve even used the sponge to remove the balm or oil cleansers. Removing this type of cleanser with a washcloth can lead to over-exfoliation, while using the sponge removes all traces of makeup and balm cleanser without scrubbing my skin too hard.

Can I add that this would be great for traveling? You can put it in your carry-on, there is nothing to spill, and it doesn’t take much space. Oh, and it weights next to nothing!

IMG_7511

I’ve been using the sponge every evening for about a month, and I love he results I get. My skin gets very clean, exfoliated, but not too much, and my pores are somewhat clearer. It’s so easy to use that I never get lazy when it comes to cleaning my face, even if I’m sleepy.

The Original Konjac Sponge retails for $14 CAD. I believe that this is a good price, considering that if you take care of it, it can last for 2 months. Mine is still going strong! For the reference, konjac sponges at Sephora retail for $20 CAD.

MaskerAide and washbeautyco products are available at Rexall, London Drugs, and many other retail locations – you can check the list here, as well as online.  washbeautyco offers a flat-rate $6.95 shipping to Canada and the US, and $12.00 internationally.

Which K-Beauty products are you using? Have you ever tried a konjac sponge? How do you cleanse your face?