Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

Mountain Medicine is a Canadian company, located in Kelowna, British Columbia. The owner, Samantha Chatham, has decided to offer us products made from wild-crafted or organically grown plants, without any pesticide or herbicide, and no synthetic ingredients whatsoever. All of the products are free from added fragrances, and all the scents come naturally from the plants that have been infused into these purely natural products.

I’ve been eyeing their products for a while, and I’m so happy to get this chance to try and review for you the Evergreen Body Oil. This beautiful body oil is a true hidden mountain gem. The oil is actually olive oil solar infused for 6+ weeks with the evergreen forest plant blend. Samantha recommends this oil for colds, cuts, inflammation, congestion or just the way I like it, all over the body for an at-home spa treatment that will transport you deep into the mountain forests, or at least it will feel like you’re there.

Ingredients: Juniper, Cedar, Douglas Fir, Hemlock, Balsam Fir, Pine, Spruce, Olive oil
The plants used are non-GMO, and the olive oil is organic.

Mountain Medicine uses only recyclable and/or reusable packaging, so this oil comes in a tinted glass bottle with a tin lid. Even the information card is attached to it with some twine, no plastic is used whatsoever. I love the crisp white and black label, the stylized mountain logo and the overall simplicity of the bottle.

IMG_5466

At first I wished the bottle came with a dropper or a pump, but after using it a couple of times I can happily report that not even one drop has escaped, and I find it easier to use this way (faster than a dropper).

The oil smells quite strong, but once on my skin it’s less noticeable. Still, the scent is definitely there, and I wouldn’t want it any other way. It really smells like you’re in an evergreen forest, and it’s a deep, earthy, sappy scent. I’ve tried other body oils, and I find this one really unique. I am sensitive to scents, and although the oil is strong, it doesn’t bother me at all. I find it very relaxing, and it didn’t cause any headaches.

IMG_5470

In addition to the strong scent, the oil is thicker than I expected, especially compared to other body oils. My skin soaks it right up, but stays a tad greasy. Mind you, I’m quite heavy handed, and the oil is completely soaked up in 15-20 minutes.

What made me especially happy is that my skin stays hydrated until the next shower, yay! As someone with extremely dry skin, I’m glad whenever I find a body moisturizer that actually does what it’s meant to do.

IMG_5474

Every time I apply the Evergreen Body Oil it makes me imagine that I’m relaxing by a lake on a warm summer evening, skin smelling like the forest around me, soaking up the last rays of sun for the day. I know, I’m a dreamer 😀

The Evergreen Body Oil retails in three sizes:

  • 1 oz for $10
  • 4 oz for $20
  • 8 oz for $35

Obviously the biggest size is the most economical. If you are interested, but unsure would you like it, you can always start with the smallest size, and then go from there.

I find the price in line with other natural body oils – some are more expensive, some are cheaper, but they are all around these prices. The difference is that this oil is made from mostly wild-crafted plants, so you get all of the goodness that nature provides. Also, the oil is really strong and concentrated, and I almost feel like I could dilute it with some unscented base oil, and it would still have the same great scent and effect.

What type of body moisturizers do you use? Have you tried body oils? Do you think you would like the evergreen forest scent?

 

