Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest.

I was so happy when I got an e-mail from Influenster saying I would be getting the full L’Oréal Bright Reveal collection for free as my first VoxBox. I decided to review every product separately, and then the collection as a whole.

First part of the collection is a scrub cleanser:

img_2245

The cleanser/scrub left my skin very smooth after only one use, and bright (although almost every cleanser actually brightens my face). It didn’t overly dry the skin on my cheeks, and it cleaned my T-zone just enough.

All in all, I like it enough to use it, but not as often as recommended (they said you should use it twice a day, morning and night).

For a full review of this product, please go here.

L’Oréal recommends to follow the cleansing step with their peel pads:

img_2241

I find these pads soaked perfectly. L’Oréal recommends these to be used once a day, nightly. I used them 2-4 times a week, and believe that is more than enough. The pads didn’t dry out my skin this way, and my skin does look more even, but the product didn’t make my pores smaller. I didn’t see any wrinkle smoothing effect, either. My skin didn’t get irritated or red at all.

I think this is the star of the collection! Read my full review here.

Because the whole collection features glycolic acid, which makes skin sensitive to UV light, you should use a moisturizer with an SPF in the mornings. L’Oréal came up with this one:

IMG_2243.JPG

As a moisturizer with SPF, I would give this one 5 stars. But lets talk about the ingredients and the claims. It is advertised as a daily lotion with glycolic acid, vitamin Cg (ascorbyl glucoside) – synthetic vitamin C, and pro-retinol (retinyl palmitate). These ingredients are not even listed in the active ingredients (active ones are listed as 3% and more in this product), so we can be sure there are less than 3% of each in the product, so very low concentrations. All three of these make the skin more sensitive to UV light, so it’s the best to use them at night, and it makes no sense to have them in a day moisturizer with SPF. However, since the concentrations are so low, it really won’t make a difference.

I recommend this as a sunscreen, but nothing more than that. I reviewed this product in detail here.

At night, add another layer of gentle peel with this dual effect overnight moisturizer:

img_2244

At first I had a slight reaction to the product. Parts of my skin started peeling lightly, which I attribute to the 4% glycolic acid, and my T-zone was really shiny in the morning. Since the reaction wasn’t too bad, I decided to stick to using it, and after about a week of regular use my skin got used to it, the peeling stopped and my skin looks more even and bright now. I am really enjoying it now, and noticed how the little bumps that sometimes appear on my neck have smoothed out. Be careful not to use too much product, since that could make your skin tacky.

The moisturizer side is not enough for the dry skin on my cheeks, so I may need to layer another moisturizer on top of this one in the winter, but for now it is working fine.

You can read the rest of my review here.

The collection as a whole is quite heavy on glycolic acid. Luckily, glycolic acid is the gentlest chemical peel out there, so it should be suitable even for sensitive skin. The products compliment each other nicely, and they do leave skin smooth and bright. I didn’t notice any wrinkle-smoothing or pore-shrinking effects after using the whole collection regularly for 2 weeks, so I decided to add back my retinol oil a couple of times a week (this collection claims it contains retinoids, but the concentrations seem very low). I will continue using the products for the peeling effects – I like how smooth my face is.

The only problem I had with the collection are the ingredient claims. Some of the featured ingredients are not present as much as you would think from the claims.

Did you try any of these products? Did you like them? Let me know if you have any questions.