Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

Fàileag Scottish Rosehip Oil is a small indie shop, located in rural Scotland, that sells a range of products based on rosehip oil, with the addition of essential oils. They make the rosehip oil themselves, using wild Scottish rosehips.

I like to support small businesses, and when I saw these little bottles, the name, design and origin of the oil made me dream of far away fairylands, where through the mists lingering over the lakes and forests you can see glimpses of fair ladies with flowers in their hair. (Sorry, I am still reading the Marion Zimmer Bradley’s ‘Avalon’ series).

It was not only the beautiful design of the shiny, colorful bottles that attracted me to try these oils. I’ve been using rosehip oil on and off for years, and it’s always been one of those safe products that works for my skin well. Having handmade rosehip oil at hand, made from wild rosehips, sounded too good to pass up. I’ve been sent a range of rosehip oils with various essential oil additions, but today I am reviewing the Original Rosehip oil, made with only three ingredients.

Ingredients: Rosehips, Sweet Almond Oil, Vitamin E Oil.

IMG_6530

The original rosehip oil comes in a brown, tinted glass bottle with a dropper. The cute label gives all the basic information about the oil, and features the stylized name of the shop, Fàileag (pronounced Fa-lag), meaning rosehip in Gaelic. The dropper is comfortable to use, and it’s easy to control the amount of oil dispensed. 

The light yellow oil inside has the natural, earthy oil scent. You may expect it to smell like rose, and you would be surprised and wrong. Rosehip is a plant in the rose family, but the oil derived from rosehips doesn’t have a flowery scent. It is mildly unpleasant, like every other unscented natural product, but the scent doesn’t linger on the skin for too long.

IMG_7183.JPG

This is a simple, yet powerful oil, full of antioxidants that protects skin and helps with its regeneration. That is why I was using it at night, as the last step in my evening routine, the way I use all the other facial oils. I would apply 2-4 drops on my fingers, and massage the oil gently all over my skin. Used after all the other skincare products, the oil does take a while to sink in, not unlike other oils. On it’s own, applied on simply cleansed skin, it sinks right in, and leaves my skin with a slight sheen, more dewy looking than greasy.

IMG_6563.JPG

I may not have enjoyed the scent of this oil, but sometimes I like to use simple oils with no additions to help heal my skin, that every now and then does get irritated from various products I’m testing. This oil definitely fits my needs, and I love the fact that it’s handmade using wild rosehips. This oil is suitable for sensitive skin.

You can order Fàileag rosehip oils from Inselly or Etsy, or by directly contacting them on Instagram or Twitter. They ship worldwide, and send the ordered products very fast, usually within a day. The sizes available are 20-50 ml, with prices varying from 7.95 – 9.50 GBP, depending on the size and variety of the essential oils added.

Do you use facial oils? Which one is your favorite? Do you prefer unscented or scented facial products?

