Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

I have to admit, I have a thing for French anything. Love the language, food, beautiful cities and, of course, their chic and effortless approach to beauty. They don’t do strong contouring or heavy layers of makeup. French beauty is all about luminous skin and defined facial features, which is exactly what I’m always going for! Givenchy is one of the amazing French brands that brings that high-end, luxurious and effortless beauty to all of us. Every single piece of makeup they come up with is classy and easy to use, and still on-trend and innovative.

I was one of the lucky Canadian bloggers that got the opportunity to test and review the new Givenchy Noir Interdit mascara, courtesy of Canadian Beauty Bloggers Network. The mascara is advertised as “a deep black mascara that creates a lash extension effect and buildable volume, thanks to its innovative 90° bendable brush”. The brush is definitely new for me, so I was excited to see if it would work better than other mascaras.

 

IMG_9661

Noir Interdit mascara comes in the well-known Givenchy packaging, with the famous black and silver ribbon design. It’s a bit bulky, but I don’t mind it. I’m becoming more appreciative of the square packaging, too, since the mascara doesn’t roll around. The mascara itself is scented, more than any other mascara I’ve used. It’s definitely a nice perfume scent, and I thought it would bother me, but it doesn’t. Once on my lashes I can’t really notice the scent all the time, I more catch it occasionally during the day.

IMG_0235

I welcomed this mascara into my small, but cherished Givenchy collection, and I’ve been using it exclusively over a few weeks to properly test it.

The main feature of this mascara is an innovative wand that can be folded up to 90 degrees for better control. At first I thought this was a gimmick and used the mascara without folding the wand, but once I tried folding it at different angles I realized how genius this option is. It really does increase control, especially when I’m trying to get the little lashes in the corners and when I’m putting mascara on my left eye (I am right-handed). The wand flips back and forth easily, but once folded it doesn’t move at all while I’m applying the mascara. It really didn’t take long for me to master the wand.

imgonline-com-ua-twotoone-JMxnOjEBVVQ

With my long lashes I always need to comb or separate them after applying almost any mascara. However, Noir Interdit mascara has a comb-shaped brush with bendable, shortened bristles, that combs my lashes better than other mascaras. I get a lot of length, enough curl, but not much volume, and that is exactly how the mascara is advertised. I found that I can build up some more volume with another coat, without clumping, and that makes this mascara great for day wear and for more intense evening eye looks. I haven’t noticed any smudging or flaking with the mascara. It’s not the most intense mascara I’ve tried, but it’s close to the top ones.

Here are some before and after photos. You can see that I get lots of length, curl, lift and separation, and some volume. I didn’t use any lash primer or curler before the mascara.

IMG_0042
Givenchy Noir Interdit mascara, before and after, one coat

I really love this mascara so much that it became my everyday mascara. I use it with one coat for daywear when I wear lighter eyeshadows and want to just define my lashes, or with two coats for evenings when I want a classy, but more dramatic look. The bending wand makes it so much easier to apply it without fear of smudging mascara over perfectly blended eyeshadow.

Givenchy Noir Interdit mascara is available exclusively at Sephora. and retails for $38 CAD. If this mascara that provides extreme length and buidable volume is not quite up your alley, you can check other Givenchy mascaras:

  • Phenomen’Eyes for limiteless curl and lash by lash definition;
  • Noir Couture for volume, length, curl and lash care;
  • Noir Couture Volume for extreme volume and extreme black lashes and
  • Base Mascara Perfecto as a volume and lash care primer.

What do you think about this new Givenchy mascara? Did the results impress or disappoint you? Do you have a favorite mascara?