Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

SBT Seabuckthorn is a Canadian company, located in British Columbia, focused on producing natural healing products based on the Seabuckthorn seed and fruit oils. I was thrilled to collaborate with them to bring you reviews of a number of their products, because I love natural products and working with and supporting Canadian businesses.

The company manufactures their products in-house, and uses a number of natural ingredients that work together with Seabuckthorn oils to treat and heal a variety of skin conditions and concerns.  You can read more about the company here.

I love to travel! Being fairly organized, I make lists and plan everything, including what to bring. What always bugs me is all the toiletries. The shampoo, conditioner, face care, sunscreen, makeup…and the list goes on and on. They take a lot of space, might leak, and usually take up a lot of the allowed weight. I’ve seen the airport personnel toss the suitcases around, I’ve seen them drive too fast and spill everything off of the vehicle that transports them, and I’ve personally experienced a torn suitcase and crushed items inside as the result. That is why I’m always looking for better ways to pack toiletries, and the natural solid products are the way to go.

I’ve only tried one other shampoo bar before, and I liked the convenience of it. However, that one was too strong and stripping for my hair, so I welcomed the idea of the SBT Seabuckthorn 3 in 1 Shampoo Bar, which is a shampoo and body bar that contains no sulfates, parabens or DEA. The ingredients list is actually extremely short and you can recognize everything on it easily.

Ingredients: Cocos nucifera (Coconut) Oil; Olea europaea (Olive) Oil; Purified Water; Organic Hippophae Rhamnoides (SBT Seabuckthorn) Oils; Ricinus communis (Castor) Oil; Sodium Hydroxide (Soda) Crystals.

This shampoo bar is also therapeutic, and the high amounts on Seabuckthorn oils are supposed to treat various hair and scalp problems, including itchy scalp, dandruff and thinning hair.

IMG_5261

The 3 in 1 bar contains at least 4 oz/ 110 g bar, and comes nicely wrapped in wax paper, with ingredients and other useful information clearly printed on the label. This is a pretty much standard size for a solid bar. I like how it can be used for hair and body, reducing the number of items I keep in my shower. This is very handy when traveling, since you can bring only this bar instead of a shampoo and a body wash. Also, in it’s solid form there is no fear of spills, and the ingredients make it simple enough to work for everyone, even for people with skin sensitivities. I can imagine this bar being convenient for those of you who go camping, too.

Once out of the wrapping, you can’t put it back, so you would need to either bring a container for it, or just leave it at your travel destination (but you will love it so much you won’t want to leave it).

Here it is in my hand to give you a sense of scale:

IMG_6353

The bar lathers, but don’t expect huge foamy lather, that’s usually powered by SLS. It smells like the Seabuckthorn oils, which is expected, considering their high concentration in this bar. This is a light, non-intrusive scent that doesn’t linger once washed off. Once wet, the bar feels almost oily, but it’s easy to wash out of my hair and doesn’t leave any residue.

I tried it truly as a 3 in 1 bar, for my hair, body and face. To use as a shampoo bar, I get my hair and the bar really wet, and lightly rub the bar close to the scalp. Then I rub it in with my fingers, and wash out. Easy as that. It leaves my hair really clean, not stripped, but I do need to condition afterwards. I actually loved it so much that I continued using it as my main shampoo after the first try.

For face and body, I use it like any other solid bar. I make my skin wet, and then rub my hands on the bar and apply the lather to my face, lightly rub and rinse. For my body, I use the bar directly on the skin. Both my face and body get nicely cleaned, but neither moisturized nor stripped, meaning I have to moisturize afterwards, but someone with normal to oily skin could go without.

IMG_6351

I really love this bar! It’s convenient for travel, great to declutter my shower, works great as a shampoo bar and as a face and body wash. Also, I used it 4 times now head to toe, and barely made a dent in it.

The SBT Seabuckthorn 3 in 1 Shampoo Bar retails for $13.95, which is great considering it’s multipurpose and it can last for a few months for sure (used twice a week, one person).

You can also look for SBT Seabuckthorn products on well.ca, amazon.ca, vitarock.com and in most larger natural stores & chains  (Nature’s Fare, Healthy Planet, Finlandia, etc.), as well as in a number of health food stores.

Did you ever try a shampoo bar? How do you pack for traveling? Would you consider trying this multi-use bar?

