Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

Tvål is a Canadian company, based in Newfoundland, that was started in 2003 by Dr. Anna Hellqvist, a Swedish-born chemist, biologist and esthetician, and her partner Dr. Jason Bailey, a also a biologist and a native Newfoundlander. In 2005 they were joined by Jason’s brother, Robert, who was a makeup artist and business manager for a very popular and successful makeup company. All three together developed a range of natural, affordable, simple beauty products that are made by hand in small batches. Their skin and hair care products are fun, simple and effective, and their line of mineral makeup, Smink (meaning makeup in Swedish) has great application and blendability, while being good for your skin.

I have only heard of this company while reviewing a subscription box that contained some samples of a Tvål face mask that I instantly fell in love with. I had to collaborate with them to review some more of their wonderful products. One of the products I received is the Rosemary Mint Body Butter. If you read my reviews, you know how dry my skin is, so I’m always looking for new body moisturizers to try.

The Rosemary Mint body butter is based on shea butter and coconut and sweet almond oils. According to the company website, it’s thick, rich, moisturizing and it sinks into your skin instantly without leaving a greasy residue, with a refreshing blend of all-natural peppermint, spearmint and rosemary.

Ingredients: Aqua, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Polowax NF, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Glycerin, Essential Oil, Diazolidinyl Urea (and) Iodopropynl Butylcarbamate.

IMG_8227

Like most body butters I’ve tried, this one comes in a jar packaging. It is too thick to be housed in any other type of packaging, but personally I don’t mind. I always apply body moisturizers after a shower, so my hands are as clean as they can get. The packaging is plastic, but the brown color of it resembles glass so much. I really like the overall design. It’s also sealed with stickers all over.

The body butter smells herbal, but not too strong, which is great for those with scent sensitivities. Considering that shea butter is the second ingredient, I was not surprised that it’s thick, but it actually also has a  light, whipped texture that I really really like.

IMG_8235

When I’m rubbing it in it tends to get a little bit white, but rubs in nicely and the whiteness goes away easily. The light minty herbal scent only gently lingers on the skin. But the best feature of this body butter: it sinks in within minutes and doesn’t leave my skin greasy AT ALL!!! This is so surprising for a body butter, and great for dry skin in the summer (or normal skin). It’s so hard for me to find rich body moisturizers to use during summer that are not greasy and with this one I can get dressed immediately. It’s great for use after my morning shower, and it hydrates all day.

IMG_8240

Although I expected to at least like Tvål products, this one just blew me away. It’s so rich and hydrating, but not greasy, which is so rare in the world of body moisturizers. I find myself reaching for it almost all the time. The Rosemary Mint Body Butter comes in a 120 ml/ 4 oz jar and retails for $15 CAD. With such great, natural ingredients, it’s definitely worth the price tag.

What is your favorite body moisturizer? Are you looking for some non-greasy ones like me? This is a good choice for anyone with normal to dry skin!

 

