Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

Wedderspoon is a company founded by Sebastien and Catherine Martin, along with their friend Fiona Nelson, after they realized that Manuka honey, native to New Zealand, was not available for purchase in North America. Knowing the health benefits of this particular type of honey, they decided to start a company and bring it here. You can read their story here.

Wedderspoon gets this honey directly from New Zealand, where it is gathered by bees from Manuka flowers. Project is non-GMO, verified in USA. They guarantee a certain percentage of Manuka pollen count, depending on the Kfactor, which is clearly labelled on the jar.

I had a chance to sample their KFactor16 Manuka Honey before, courtesy of SocialNature. You can see the short review here. As a huge honey lover, I continued buying this honey for its health benefits. However, what I didn’t realize is that Wedderspoon has a line of body care products based on the Manuka honey, so I was naturally thrilled when they contacted me to review some of their products.

Wedderspoon sent me all three artisanal soaps they have in their body care line. I love the design of the packaging. The box itself is a standard paper box that showcases Manuka flowers and a tiny bee gathering the nectar. There is a small window into the box that’s shaped like a hexagon, exactly the shape of bees’ honeycomb. A lot of attention to detail went into the design of the packaging. The three available scents are:

  • Oatmeal
  • Lemongrass
  • Tea tree

All soaps are free from SLS, petroleum, mineral oil, parabens, artificial colors and palm oil.

IMG_6005

The Oatmeal soap is the only one that has exfoliating particles inside (oats). I really rubbed it hard over my skin, but the scrubbing effect was gentle, which would make this an awesome everyday soap. After using it, my skin was smoother and squeeky clean. This soap has almost no scent, and after rinsing it off, there was no scent on my skin. It is a bit harder to rinse off, compared to some other natural soaps I’ve tried.

Ingredients: *olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, †sodium hydroxide, *cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, *carthamus tinctorius (safflower) seed oil, *helianthus annuus sunflower (seed) oil, *persea gratissima (avocado) oil, *theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, *ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, *argania spinosa (argan) kernel oil, *manuka honey, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf, quick oats, *curcuma longa (turmeric).
*ORGANIC INGREDIENT †Not present in final product. 

IMG_6010

The Lemongrass soap has a fresh, lemony scent, that I find perfect for those morning and post-workout showers. It cleans my skin very well, and it’s equally hard to rinse off as the oatmeal soap. This doesn’t bug me much, since it’s a good excuse to extend my showers a bit. There is a light scent that lingers on my skin after rinsing, but it fades away quickly.

Ingredients: *olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, †sodium hydroxide, *cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, *carthamus tinctorius (safflower) seed oil, *helianthus annuus sunflower (seed) oil, *persea gratissima (avocado) oil, *theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, *ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, *argania spinosa (argan) kernel oil, *manuka honey, essential oil blend of cymbpogon schoenanthus (lemongrass) oil and citrus paradisi (grapefruit) oil,*curcuma longa (turmeric).
*ORGANIC INGREDIENT †Not present in final product. 

IMG_6015

Tea tree is a powerful antifungal plant, and the Tea Tree soap is based on this wonderful ingredient. What I didn’t know is that the Manuka and Tea tree plants are related, and in this soap they work together to clean the skin. The soap cleans perfectly, but like the other two soaps, it takes me a little while to rinse it off. I think this would be an awesome soap to use for feet, especially if you wear closed shoes a lot, to keep those pesky fungal infections at bay, naturally!

Ingredients: *olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, †sodium hydroxide, *cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, *carthamus tinctorius (safflower) seed oil, *helianthus annuus sunflower (seed) oil, *persea gratissima (avocado) oil, *theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, *ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, *argania spinosa (argan) kernel oil, *manuka honey, *aloe barbadensis (aloe) leaf juice, melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) leaf oil, powdered goat’s milk.
*ORGANIC INGREDIENT †Not present in final product. 

IMG_6016

These soaps are great for people with scent sensitivities. The scents are nice, but not too strong or overpowering, and they all dissipate quickly. The soaps lather gently, and clean really well, leaving skin squeeky clean. I don’t find them stripping, but not particularly moisturizing either. I’d say they are great for people with normal to oily skin, and if you have dry skin like me, you’ll definitely need to moisturize afterwards. To be completely honest, I rarely find a bar soap or body wash I don’t have to moisturize after, so this is nothing new or unusual for me. It’s great that they are completely natural, and contain no nasty ingredients.

These artisanal soaps retail for CA$8.99 each, and for my US readers, you can buy them on wedderspoon.com for US$7.99 each. In addition to their website, Wedderspoon products are sold at many retail locations. I personally buy the honey at my local pharmacy, and I’ve even seen some products in one of the Winners stores. To check where to find these products near you, check their store locator.

Do you use natural soaps? Which one is you favorite? Which ingredients do you like seeing in your soaps?

