Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest.

Today I am featuring another amazing product made by the Canadian company Ryra bath and body, located in Surrey BC. They sell a range of natural body polishes, and I received this Cocoa Mint one to try and review.

First of all, let me explain a difference between a body scrub and a body polish. Simply, body scrub aims to exfoliate and clean, while a body polish exfoliates and moisturizes. This is why I prefer body polishes, especially during winter, while using scrubs more during summer.

I always sniff at every product, and I didn’t like scent from the jar. To be honest, I didn’t really smell much of anything. However, my nose has played tricks on me before, and I proceeded to use this body polish nonetheless.

OH MY GOD!!! Once I started spreading this over my skin I fell in love! It smells like thin mints (e.g. After Eight), a mix of chocolate-y goodness and mint.

Unfortunately, the scent doesn’t linger, so I would love to see a body butter with this same scent. It smells THAT good.

IMG_4603.JPG

(wooden spatula is not included with the product)

The ingredients in this body polish are all natural: Coconut butter, Shea butter, Sunflower oil, Grapeseed oil, Avocado oil, Emulsified wax, Bee’s wax, Stearic acid, White sugar, Brown cane sugar, Optiphen plus, Cocoa powder, Coffee Arabica powder, Peppermint essential oil.

The only ingredient I didn’t recognize is Optiphen plus, so I looked it up: Optiphen Plus is a paraben- and formaldehyde-free preservative system that is ideal for products with a lower pH systems,  according to www.bulkapothecary.com Sounds good to me!

I didn’t smell any coffee in the body polish, but I am glad to see it in the ingredients, however low it is, since the benefits of coffee scrubs are well known.

Due to the high content of butters and oils, this body polish doesn’t fly everywhere – we’ve all been there. It kind of sticks to the skin, which is great. You rub it into wet skin, and then rinse with soap. You have to use a soap, since a body polish doesn’t clean like a scrub, and I paired it with this soap from the same company, that I have recently reviewed.

I didn’t feel any tingling or cooling from the mint, which is good. I had a bad experience with a body conditioner before (I am looking at you, LUSH Christingle), when while rinsing it it got into parts of my body that didn’t need to be cooled down.

IMG_4604.JPG

I love how sugar scrubs and polishes leave my dry skin shiny and smooth, and this one did just that. I almost didn’t have to use a moisturizer afterwards, but my dry skin demands it. I can see myself skipping the moisturizer after using this body polish on a warmer day. If you have normal skin it may be enough for you, so that you can skip the moisturizer afterwards.

“Pro” tip – don’t forget to use it on top of hands and feet. Hands sometimes show age even before your face does, so you need to take care of them, and that is something a lot of us forget or skip.

IMG_4602.JPG

The product comes in a 4 oz. glass jar, and looks beautiful on my bathroom shelf. It is definitely a display piece. It retails for $20.00.

I used about 0.5 oz for my whole body (see the photo above), which is actually less than the amount of other scrubs/polishes I’ve used. That means it could last 1-2 months if you use it 1-2 times a week.

How often do you exfoliate? Do you use scrubs or polishes? What is your favorite?

 

 

