Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest.

I am always excited to receive new products for review. When ChickAdvisor sent me an e-mail saying I will be receiving BOOST® Just Protein for free, I immediately started thinking of ways to use it. The product came the same day, right after the e-mail, so I had to find recipes on the go.

I’ve received a 227g canister of instant whey protein. It’s smaller than other protein powders I buy, which makes it easy to keep in my pantry – I never have enough space in my kitchen.

Expiry date is clearly listed on the bottom. Mine expires in about 18 months, so it’s quite long lasting. This would great to keep in disaster packages, if you do that sort of thing. I do, and I know how much work it can be constantly having to check and rotate food.

It comes sealed, which is always a plus for me!

img_4028

The powder itself contains only 99% whey protein and 1% soy lecithin. There is no sugar or flavouring added! This makes the product so versatile that it can be used in sweet or savory meals.

21g (3 scoops) serving has 18g of protein and 1g of carbohydrates, and there are about 10 servings in the canister. Each scoop is best dissolved in 120 ml of liquid.

img_4187

Because it has no sugar, this is the most versatile protein I’ve even used!

The first idea I got was the most predictable one! I used the powder in my daily smoothies. It dissolves easily, and gives the usual protein taste, so you will need to figure out how much to use. However, due to the lack of flavouring added, it will not ruin the taste of the fruit you use.

For my smoothies I just mix fruit, yogurt, honey and milk, and since I make them all the time, I don’t really measure. I mostly drink smoothies to add more fruit and dairy to my diet, but if you want to use them as a meal replacement, adding Boost protein really helps with that.

img_4099

I am sure most of you are like me, and like to have something sweet around for “when your blood sugar drops” 😀 For that I can recommend these  ‘chocolate’ soft cookies/biscuits that are a healthier alternative to snacking. They are a big hit for us!

To make them, simply mix:

  • 50g shredded coconut
  • 50g instant oatmeal
  • 2 scoops Boost protein powder
  • 1 large shredded apple
  • 250g cottage cheese
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 50g carob powder (instead of cocoa)
  • cinnamon, vanilla if you wish
  • sweeteners – brown sugar, honey, steavia, date paste (I used 3 tbsp of brown sugar)

Mix it well all together, scoop onto baking paper and bake for 10-15 minutes at 350 F (180 C). Let them cool, and enjoy! Keep in fridge and use up within a few days!

img_4038

And to show that the powder can be used in savory recipes, I made this low carb, high protein bread. I have to admit, it tastes really different than ‘regular’ bread and has a different texture, feel heavier, but I could get used to it. I just don’t think I would completely switch to this type of bread.

To make it, simply mix:

  • 63 g flax seeds (I used half flax seeds, half flax meal)
  • 63g spelt flour
  • 63g Boost protein powder
  • 250g cottage cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp salt

Put baking paper into a bread pan, oil it up on the inside, and pour the mixture in. Smooth it up on top, and bake in an oven preheated to 350 F (180 C) for about 20 minutes. These measurements are for a thinner bread. If you want a full sized bread, double the recipe and bake for about 45 minutes.

IMG_4132.JPG

All in all, this will definitely become my go-to protein powder from now on!

Do you use protein powders? Have you tried ones with no flavour? Does this one interest you?

