Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

SBT Seabuckthorn is a Canadian company, located in British Columbia, focused on producing natural healing products based on the Seabuckthorn seed and fruit oils. I was thrilled to collaborate with them to bring you reviews of a number of their products, because I love natural products and working with and supporting Canadian businesses.

The company manufactures their products in-house, and uses a number of natural ingredients that work together with Seabuckthorn oils to treat and heal a variety of skin conditions and concerns.  You can read more about the company here.

I’ve been battling dry skin my whole life. I can’t have a simple shower, even in the middle of the summer, without moisturizing heavily afterwards. During winter my skin becomes very itchy, and I should be moisturizing twice a day, but who has time for that. If my lotions, creams, body butters are not hydrating enough, it can even lead to my skin cracking. This winter’s been long and cold, so I’ve noticed that my usual moisturizer doesn’t work as well as it should, and I’ve got some areas that get flaky within 12 hours of moisturizing. Enter SBT Seabuckthorn.

All of the SBT Seabuckthorn products are based on seabuckthorn oils, but the Berry Essence Soothing Salve is completely centered around these exceptional healing oils. It’s recommended as an effective treatment for people with psoriasis, and for healing cracked and dry skin. I had high hopes for it to help with my flaky, itchy skin, and it’s definitely effective.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Candelilla Wax, Cocoa Butter Organic SBT Seabuckthorn Seed Oil, Organic SBT Seabuckthorn Fruit Oil, Meadowfoam Oil

The salve comes in quite a large tin, which I completely underestimated. Although I know how much 110 g/ 4 oz is, I was still surprised once I actually had it in my hand. Here is a photo for scale, just to show you how much you actually get with this product. I love the environment-friendly tin packaging that can be easily recycled or reused. To give you a few ideas, I like to reuse tins to store small things like buttons, pins etc, or to mix my powder face masks in.

I also think this is a travel-friendly product, since it will not spill like other body moisturizers, and can be used all over the body.

IMG_5425.JPG

The salve is unscented, and smells like the seabuckthorn oils. I find this scent mildly unpleasant, but it’s not too strong, and over time I got used to it. I definitely appreciate that they didn’t add essential oils for scent, since dry, damaged skin can be especially sensitive, and this way the Berry Essence salve can work for everyone.

IMG_5072

The salve is soft, when I glide my finger over the surface it melts instantly, and if I press, my finger leaves a dent in it. However, like the other salves I tried from this company, to use it over a larger skin surface I recommend getting it out of the tin.

The tin itself is not too hard, so if you just squeeze it all around, then flip upside down and shake, the whole salve should eventually come out. Then you can easily glide the whole salve over your skin, where it melts beautifully on the contact. Then rub it in as well as you can.

I do find the salve a bit greasy, which is expected considering the ingredients, but after a while it soaks in. Because of this I prefer to use it at night.

IMG_5426.JPG

The deep yellow color comes from the seabuckthorn oils, and it lightly stains my skin, as you can see on the photo. I just glided the salve over my skin, but didn’t rub it in, and once rubbed in it’s less noticeable.

IMG_5427.JPG

I find that my skin stays moisturized longer after using the Berry Essence Soothing Salve than when I use my regular body moisturizers. Lately, if I moisturize at night I notice some flaking even the next morning. But when I use the salve instead, my skin doesn’t flake until the next shower, which is quite a difference.

The Berry Essence Soothing Salve is sold in a 110 g / 4 oz tin, and retails for $19.95. Considering the size, the amount of product I need for each use, and the price of other similar products, I’d say that this is a reasonable price for an all natural salve with additional healing properties, that actually works for my skin.

You can also look for SBT Seabuckthorn products on well.ca, amazon.ca, vitarock.com and in most larger natural stores & chains  (Nature’s Fare, Healthy Planet, Finlandia, etc.), as well as in a number of health food stores.

Do you need to moisturize more during winter? What type of product do you prefer, oil, lotion, milk or something like this salve?

