I love everything French…food, clothes, and of course, make-up. So when I saw that Sephora offered a 100 point sample of Givenchy Rouge Interdit Vinyl Color Enhancing Lipstick in Noir Revelateur, I had to have it, although I usually don’t get the 100 point perks and let my points accumulate for bigger gifts they offer.

Givenchy describes their Vinyl Color Enhancing Lipstick line as medium color lipsticks formulated with black rose oil for ultimate shine, impactful color, and a plumping effect. Black rose oil is a rare and precious active ingredient that delivers extreme moisture and comfort to the lips for hours. It is combined with a silicone resin that forms a shiny, thin, and supple film on the lips’ surface for a second-skin feel. Lips are left with a “vinyl” radiance and a filling effect: lips instantly appear fuller, smoother, and denser. Each high-shine color blurs away all the lips’ tiniest imperfections and reflects the light, and its slick case features a metallic, satin ribbon design that’s inspired by the House’s fashion designs.

IMG_2357.JPG

The packaging for their sample is almost as perfect as the packaging for the full sized lipstick. It is made of the same material, with the metallic ribbon design along one side. The only thing missing is the satin ribbon at the bottom.

IMG_2358.JPG

The lipstick itself looks very dark in the tube, but develops on the lips into a shade that can range from mauve to berry, depending on your lips pH. It feels very moisturizing, almost like a tinted lip balm, but with slightly more color. The developed color is sheer and looks very natural, but it was noticeable enough that my hubby asked me why am I wearing lipstick at home. The lipstick wears off really quickly, but it’s crazy comfortable on my lips (that were really dry lately). You can see the difference in color of my lips before and after on the next picture. It is definitely great for day wear, or for natural make-up looks.

pjimage.jpg

My only issue is the price. The lipstick is available at Sephora for $38, and although that could be a good price for other colors that may have a longer wear time, for this particular color that is too much, in my opinion. It definitely feels like a luxurious tinted lip balm, and I would get it only at a discount because it felt so comfortable, so I am happy I grabbed this sample.

Did you ever try this color? Did it turn out differently on your lips?

