Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

Fàileag Scottish Rosehip Oil is a small indie shop, located in rural Scotland, that sells a range of products based on rosehip oil, with the addition of essential oils. They make the rosehip oil themselves, using wild Scottish rosehips. I like to support small businesses, and these little bottles with the dreamy name and natural, handmade oil were calling my name.

Even some natural ingredients can be irritants, so I’m always careful about what I put on my skin, even though it’s not sensitive. There are a number of ingredients that are simple, and I’m always sure they will work for me, and one of those is rosehip oil. I never had any issues when using it, and I know it’s full of great antioxidants! Fàileag Scottish Rosehip Oils are made from wild Scottish rosehips, and different product varieties have small amounts of essential oils added to the base oils. I never tried chamomile oil on my face before, but since it’s supposed to be very soothing, I was happy to try the Rosehip Oil – Chamomile hint for my dry skin.

Ingredients: Rosehips, Sweet Almond Oil, Vitamin E Oil, Chamomile Essential Oil

Although these ingredients are very simple, essential oils can be very potent. If you have sensitive skin, I recommend a patch test on your arm, and then your neck or less visible place on your face before you start fully using these products. I have to note that I had no irritation or problems using them, since the essential oils concentration is very small, and my skin isn’t that sensitive.

IMG_6557

The rosehip oil with chamomile comes in a yellow, tinted, semi-transparent glass bottle with a dropper. The cute label gives all the basic information about the oil, and features the stylized name of the shop, Fàileag (pronounced Fa-lag), meaning rosehip in Gaelic. The dropper is comfortable to use, and it’s easy to control the amount of oil dispensed. 

The oil is light yellow in color, with a very slight bluish tint. The scent is very strong out of the bottle, like very concentrated chamomile mixed with the earthy scent of rosehip oil. Once on the skin the chamomile scent diffuses a bit, and has medium strength,  scenting skin lightly, but the earthy scent of the rosehip base oil definitely comes through. This scent lingers on the skin for a while, and I find this oil more scented than other Fàileag oils I’ve tried so far.

IMG_6597.JPG

Rosehip oil is know for being high in antioxidants, and it helps protect and regenerate skin. Chamomile oil has a number of great benefits for skin. It has antiseptic and antibiotic properties, and can help with acne, eczema, to diminish scars, marks and spots on the skin. It can be used to clear scalp from dandruff and the scent helps to ease down annoyance, anger and irritation.

Since chamomile oil may induce perspiration, I was only using it at night, and recommend you to do the same. This process can help your skin purge all the toxins and cure infections. You may wake up with a shiny face, though, but it’s easy to wash it off of course.

Because of the strong scent, I’ve been only using 1-2 drops of the oil as the last step of my evening routine. Used after all the other skincare products, the oil does take a while to sink in, not unlike any other oils. I didn’t use this oil on it’s own, except once to see how it absorbs into skin, and like all the other oil from the Fàileag range, it sinks right in, leaving my skin with a slight sheen, more dewy looking than greasy.

IMG_6589.JPG

I love to have a variety of facial oils, to tailor my facial routine to my skins needs, which change all the time. Fàileag oils definitely fit my needs, and they are really affordable, especially considering that they’re hand made from wild rosehips.

You can order Fàileag rosehip oils from Inselly or Etsy, or by directly contacting them on Instagram or Twitter. They ship worldwide, and send the ordered products very fast, usually within a day. The sizes available are 20-50 ml, with prices varying from 7.95 – 9.50 GBP, depending on the size and variety of the essential oils added.

Do you use facial oils? Which one is your favorite? Do you prefer unscented or scented facial products?

 

 

