Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

I am sure you’ve all seen MaskerAide products around. MaskerAide is a Canadian company that works on bringing the latest trends, innovation and quality of South Korean beauty products to Canada, US and internationally. Korean beauty products are very popular, and becoming even more so every day, but it’s sometimes hard to choose which ones to try. In addition, often their labels are in Korean, and it’s hard to find translations and ingredient lists. That is why I’m so happy to collaborate with a Canadian company that brings us these cute and fun, but functional and effective products. All the MaskerAide products are designed and developed in Toronto.

If you have walked by a shelf with beauty products, you couldn’t have missed these masks. They have fun and stylish packaging that just attracts attention. I had so much fun arranging flatlays around the masks, and the design helps with my inspiration so much. I’ve received a number of various mask to try, but the one that piqued my interest the most is the newest addition to the MaskerAide mask range, the Tell Me ‘Pout It lip mask.

Although I’m in love with sheet masks (who isn’t), and to be completely honest, with masks in general, I was a bit skeptical about this mask at first. I thought it was a bit gimmicky, and I’ve tried gel under-eye masks (from a different company), that never worked for me. All I’d get from them was the cooling effect, and were always uncomfortable or slipping. So I tried this mask with some initial doubts with regards to its efficacy.

IMG_7495

We have all seen the, now famous, photo of Emma Stone using a lip mask before the Golden Globe Awards. That mask is quite expensive for one use, and this MaskerAide version is much more affordable. The Tell Me ‘Pout It lip mask is designed to hydrate lips and the area around them, and prepare them for makeup application, with the “blend of Manuka Honey, Fermented Rose, Grapefruit Oil and a unique antioxidant Berry Complex”. The mask doesn’t contain parabens, PEG, mineral oil, formaldehyde, silicone, sulfates, phtalates, benzophenone, BHT, artificial fragrance or pigments.

INGREDIENTS: Water/Aqua/Eau, Glycerin, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Propylene Glycol, Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, 1,2-Hexanediol, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Ascophyllum Nodosum Extract, Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Agar, Cellulose Gum, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Carrageenan, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside, Mel/Honey Extract/Extrait de Miel, Saccharomyces/Selaginella Lepidophylla Ferment Filtrate, Propanediol,Saccharomyces/Rosa Damascena Flower Extract Ferment Filtrate, Euterpe Oleracea Fruit Extract, Vaccinium Angustifolium (Blueberry) Fruit Extract, Rubus Fruticosus (Blackberry) Fruit Extract, Fragaria Chiloensis (Strawberry) Fruit Extract, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil (*D-Limonene), Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate

Once you open the package you will find a plastic tray, with the gel mask inside, covered with another layer of plastic. I prepped my lips by using a scrub to remove some small flakes of dead skin, and then drying them well, which is very easy with my lips, they’re always dry. The mask is supposed to be used on dry, and – I can’t believe I have to say this – makeup free skin.

IMG_7859

The mask itself is made out of soft, jelly like substance, and it didn’t feel like it was really soaked in essence. It fits great and adheres really well to my lips and skin, and while wearing it for the full 15 minutes it didn’t slide down once. And I was walking around! Just don’t try to talk or open your mouth!

Here’s the mask in hand to give you a sense of scale:

IMG_7871

Wearing the mask is not crazy comfy, but not uncomfortable either. I’d say it’s doable for 15 minutes, but I wouldn’t want to wear it longer than that (it’s recommended to use it for 10-15 minutes). There is just something about not being able to open my mouth, even when I don’t really need to. It’s all in my head, of course. I did experience some light tingling, but it didn’t bother me, especially because I was expecting it.

Once I removed the mask, my skin was not sticky or tacky, and all the essence was absorbed into my skin and lips. I was able to apply makeup with no wait time. I’d say this makes the mask great to use before going out, or an event.

Here is the mask on. As you can see, it’s covers quite a large area.

IMG_7945.jpg

After using the mask my lips were more hydrated, and the lipstick glided nicely over them. Also, I had no flakes on my lips (but I did exfoliate prior to using the mask). I didn’t notice much plumping.

But the area around the lips is a whole other story. I was so amazed. The whole area felt extremely well hydrated, the fine lines around my lips less visible, and the lip line, which I always have problems with, didn’t look dry at all. Most face masks say to avoid the area around the lips, and it was such a great discovery for me to find a mask that works so well to hydrate this area. I will be buying the mask more for this area than for the lips.

MaskerAide is striving to keep their products affordable, and the Tell Me ‘Pout It lip mask is well priced at $7.00 CAD. You can also get the 4-mask box for $25.00 CAD. All the MaskerAide products are available at Rexall, London Drugs, and many other retail locations – you can check the list here, as well as online.  MaskerAide offers a flat-rate $5.00 shipping to Canada and the US, and $17.00 internationally.

Have you ever tried a lip mask? Whick K-Beauty products are you using? Did you try any MaskerAide products yet?

 

