Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

I am sure you’ve all seen MaskerAide products around. MaskerAide is a Canadian company that works on bringing the latest trends, innovation and quality of South Korean beauty products to Canada, US and internationally. Korean beauty products are very popular, and becoming even more so every day, but it’s sometimes hard to choose which ones to try. In addition, often their labels are in Korean, and it’s hard to find translations and ingredient lists. That is why I’m so happy to collaborate with a Canadian company that brings us these cute and fun, but functional and effective products. All the MaskerAide products are designed and developed in Toronto.

I can never have enough face masks. Clay masks, hydrating masks, sheet masks, gel masks…I want them all. I use different masks according to how my skin feels at the moment, but I always mask at least once a week, sometimes twice. One of my weekly masks is usually focused on deep cleansing/pore extracting and shrinking, and the second one is hydrating. However, with dry combination skin I have to be careful not to use too harsh cleansing masks, because they tend to be drying. It can be quite frustrating to have a slightly oily nose that is peeling at the same time. So, when I want to deep cleanse my skin, but in a gentle way, I use the MaskerAide Detox Diva sheet mask. Then I use their Spotted! blemish patches to gently dry out any existing or emerging blemishes.

Like all the MaskerAide sheet masks, Detox Diva has a fun illustration on the packaging, featuring a fab lady enjoying a bath, while using the face mask. This totally inspired me to do the same the first time I used this mask. I sneaked into the spare bathroom, filled up the tub, lighted some candles, and enjoyed some me time while detoxing my face and searching for some easy-to-make summer salads.

The foil wrap is easy to tear open, which is really important, but open it before your hands get wet. I hate having to look for scissors to open a packaging that refuses to tear. Also, the packaging is 100% biodegradable and recyclable. The mask inside comes nicely folded, soaked with essence, but not dripping, and it’s easy to unfold it. The amount of essence is just perfect, although more than in the other MaskerAide masks I’ve tried, and once the mask is on my face there is no dripping at all!

IMG_7528

Detox Diva is a hydrating sheet mask formulated to minimize pores, absorb impurities and protect from toxins and free-radicals without removing skin’s essential natural oil, while gently exfoliating and lifting dead skin cells. It is free of parabens, mineral oil, sulfates, phtalates, benzophenone, artificial fragrance and pigments.

Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Butylene Glycol, Sorbitol, Alcohol Denat., Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Fruit Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Fruit Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Mel/Honey Extract/Extrait de Miel, Opuntia Ficus-Indica Extract, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Angelica Archangelica Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Fragaria Chiloensis (Strawberry) Fruit Extract, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Prunus Mume Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Betaine, Octyldodeceth-25, Decyltetradeceth-25,Arginine, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Xanthan Gum, Dextrin, Sodium Polyacrylate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol

This mask doesn’t fit me perfectly. The top forehead part went over my hair, and the part that’s between the upper lip and nose is too thick and kept sliding down and covering my upper lip. Also, the parts covering sides of my nose were a bit too small/short. However, we all have different shaped face and head, so there will never be a sheet mask that fits us all perfectly. The material mask is made from is very nice, soft and comfortable. It’s also thin enough not to feel claustrophobic on my face, but not too thin, so it’s easy to unfold and maneuver it.

IMG_7990

I used the mask on clean skin, obviously, and kept it on for about 20 minutes. I enjoyed the light scent and gentle cooling. After removing the mask, I gently patted my face with a paper napkin, and let the rest of the essence sink in. You can rinse your face instead, but water dries out my skin, and this way I got the full benefits of the mask. The essence sunk into my skin and dried off very fast, within 5 minutes, and there was no stickiness afterwards. After the essence dried, my skin was smooth, hydrated and very gently exfoliated. I used this mask on a weekend, and my skin was still feeling nice on Monday (with regular skincare routine of course).

Spotted! are clear patches that are supposed to minimize the look of pesky pimples, absorb excess oil and calm redness with a blend of Salicylic Acid, Volcanic Ash and Tea Tree Oil. They contain 0.5% Salicylic Acid and no parabens, artificial fragrance or pigments.

Ingredients: Acrylates Copolymer, Vinyl Caprolactam/VP/Dimethylaminoethyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Sodium Metabisulfite, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Salicylic Acid, Butylene Glycol,Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, PVP, Polysorbate 80, Volcanic Ash, Phytosphingosine,  Sodium Hyaluronate, Phenoxyethanol, Aqua/Water/Eau, Alcohol Denat., Alcohol

 

IMG_7522

The patches come in two sizes, so you can use them for smaller pimples and bigger acne. You need to remove the patch and stick it over the clean, dry skin where the blemish is. The patches don’t feel particularly sticky, but actually they hold really well. I used them at night, on my face and body, and they never peeled off. They are also easy to remove, and don’t pull on skin.

Don’t forget to put these patches on after cleansing, but before your serum and moisturizer. You want your skin dry and non-greasy. I forgot a few times and used them after my moisturizer, and they still held well, but I could tell there was some difference.

The spot patches are made to be used overnight, and are not make-up friendly. I didn’t try applying makeup over them, though – let me know if it works! I did use them during the day every now and then, and the held well, and worked they magic while I was working on my blog posts and other things.

IMG_9327.jpg

So, did they work? I used the patches on both emerging and active blemishes. The patches worked very gently, and I had to use a few on each of the blemishes to make them smaller. However, some of my hormonal breakouts can be bad, with some of them being those hard, under skin types. I was happy with the results I got from the patches, because they gently eased the pain and size of my blemishes, without drying out my skin. If you want instant results, though, these might not be for you. I’d recommend you try them, though, because every skin is different.

I loved every MaskerAide mask I’ve tried, and Detox Diva is no different. It hydrates my skin, and gently removes the dead skin to leave it soft and glowing. The Spotted! blemishes patches are gentle enough to be used regularly, and I love how well they hold. I’ve tried other patches that peel off over time, but these just stay put.

MaskerAide is striving to keep their products affordable, and the Detox Diva sheet mask is well priced at $6.99 CAD. You can also get it in a variety of sets that allow for some savings. The Spotted! blemish patches are available as 2 sheets/24 patches travel pack for $7.00, or in a 8 sheets/96 patches box packaging for $25.00 CAD. All the MaskerAide products are available at Rexall, London Drugs, and many other retail locations – you can check the list here, as well as online.  MaskerAide offers a flat-rate $5.00 shipping to Canada and the US, and $17.00 internationally.

What are your favorite sheet masks? Which K-Beauty products are you using? Did you try any MaskerAide products yet?

