Disclaimer: This post features item(s) received at no cost for reviewing purposes, but the opinions are mine and, as always, honest. Read the full disclosure here.

LOA Skin Care is a Vancouver, BC based company founded by Spencer Angeltvedt. Spencer always had dry, sensitive skin and after doing some research realized how toxic common drugstore (and high-end) skincare products can be. He started using natural oils, and infusing them with herbs, using  modern and ancient techniques, and finalized the only product this company is currently selling, the Miracle Oil.

As you may already know, I am trying to use more natural products. I am not sure will I ever do the 100% transition, but I’d be happy if most of the products I use were natural and non-toxic. That’s why I’m always happy to try new natural products, and hopefully discover new favorites that work for me. Natural oils are very potent, and if you do your research, I am sure you will be able to find something that will work for whatever problem you have.

One of those powerful oils is the Evening Primrose Oil, which is rich in omega-6 fatty acids, and as such used as a base for this wonderful product, Miracle Oil. This and a number of other oils are infused with a proprietary blend of 10 different botanicals, that add cell-regenerating phytonutrients, which have been clinically verified to restore the skin’s moisture barrier and significantly improve acne, eczema, and psoriasis, according to the company. Also, only 0.25% of the entire formula consists of essential oils, so it’s suitable for sensitive skin. You can read more about the ingredients and what the product does for the skin here.

Ingredients: Evening primrose oil, safflower oil infused with herbs (calendula, comfrey root, gotu kola, plantain leaf, white willow bark, licorice root, butcher’s broom, camu camu berry, aloe vera leaf, spirulina), chia seed oil, tamanu oil, rosemary CO2 antioxidant, vitamin E, essential oils (tea tree, frankincense, helichrysum).

This product is also vegan, palm oil and gluten free, certified cruelty-free by Leaping Bunny and PETA and made with only organic and non-GMO ingredients.

IMG_6261

I really wanted to try this oil, because it’s meant to help not only with extremely dry skin, but also with acne. I don’t have facial acne, but I do get body break-outs sometimes, so I was hoping the Miracle Oil would help. I am always skeptical when someone gives the adjective “miracle” to their product, but I kept an open mind and tested it for 3 weeks.

I really like the simple and clean aesthetics of the bottle. The bottle itself is made from plain transparent glass, with a tin cap, and a simple, crisp white label. I love the combination of the white label, green-ish oil and black and green lettering. I would’ve preferred if the bottle was tinted, though. Everything is recyclable except the plastic insert, shown on the photo below, but this insert helps immensely with managing the quantity of the product you get out of the bottle. It basically allows you to get the oil out in drops, which is absolutely necessary, especially if you will use it on your face. It’s easier to pour it out this way than with a dropper. A little really goes a long way with this oil.

IMG_6274.JPG

As soon as you open the bottle, the deep, earthy, herbal scent of the botanical infusion will hit you. It is a familiar scent to me, but I can’t quite distinguish which herb smells the most, sorry. The scent is strong, but not overpowering, and it lightly lingers on the skin. As you can tell from the photos, the color is light olive, but doesn’t stain the skin. It’s a thicker oil, and it’s not one of those dry oils, it definitely feels greasy.

On dry skin, this oil sinks in fast. Try not to use too much, though. To give you some perspective, 3-4 drops are enough for my forearm, 2 for my face, 2-3 for my decollete, etc. Try to enjoy the herbal scent and message it in. There is a slight greasy film left on my skin after application, but not so much that my clothes stick to my skin. After a while this goes away, but I usually try not to get dressed right away.

I was using the oil very targeted, for dry skin patches and for some areas of body pimples/acne on my chest and back. For dry skin or flaky areas this oil worked instantly. It soothes the skin and makes it look moisturized and plump. After applying it a couple of times the skin parts that were flaky got smooth and stopped peeling.

However, what interested me more is would the oil work for pimples and acne. Bear in mind, even though I get them, my skin is still dry, so any “usual” product made specifically for acne additionally dehydrates my skin. I was using the oil on the problem areas, chest and back, for full three weeks, applying it once a day on clean skin. It was recommended to me to apply it even 2-3 times a day, but I found that to be too challenging for me. The problem areas didn’t clear out completely, but I’ve noticed that there is less inflammation, a number of pimples have shrunk or disappeared and I don’t get too many new ones. I believe that with continued use I may be able to have noticeably clearer skin.

IMG_6283

Many products claim to be great for all skin types, but lets face it, only rare ones are. As someone with dry/combo skin on my face and extremely dry body skin, but with occasional break-outs, I find it challenging to find products that not only focus on hydration, but also on sebum control, to manage break-outs without drying out skin. This oil has worked for me to moisturize my dry skin without clogging the pores, and to ease inflammation and heal break-outs. Would I call it a “miracle”? Not sure. But it works alright 🙂

You can buy Miracle Oil in two sizes, 2 oz for $27.00 and 4 oz for $48.00. This may seem pricey, but the oil is made with only natural and high-quality ingredients. If you are planning to use it targeted, like me, it will last for a while.

Do you use natural skincare products? Do you believe they can heal? Would you use oils for acne-prone skin (you should)?

